Nation Current Affairs 17 Mar 2019 Telangana Candidates ...

Telangana Candidates’ list exposes crisis in Congress stable

Published Mar 17, 2019, 1:12 am IST
Updated Mar 17, 2019, 1:12 am IST
Four out of eight candidates were beaten in two previous polls.
Congress logo.
 Congress logo.

Hyderabad: The candidates that the Congress selected for the Lok Sabha polls from the state clearly shows the bankruptcy of the party.

Of the candidates in the first list announced on Friday night, four were defeated in the 2014 Lok Sabha and 2018 Assembly elections. One candidate was defeated in the recent Assembly elections. Half the candidates joined the Congress only six months ago.


Mr Ramesh Rathod, nominated from Adilabad, lost on a TD ticket in 2014. Denied a TRS ticket, he lost as a Congress canddiate from Khanapur last year.

Mr Ponnam Prabhakar was defeated from the Karimnagar LS seat in 2014 and the Karimnagar Assembly segment last year. He has been renominated from Karminagar.

Mr Balaram Naik lost from the Mahbubabad Lok Sabha constituency in 2014 and the Mahbubabad Assembly segment in 2018. He will be contest again for the Mahbubabad Lok Sabha seat.

Former minister A. Chandrasekhar lost in 2014 and 2018 and he is contesting from the Peddapalli. TPCC working president A. Revanth Reddy, defeated from Kodangal in 2018 and has been fielded from the Malkajgiri Lok Sabha seat.

Chevella MP Konda Vishweshwar Reddy, won from the TRS in 2014 and recently joined the Congress and has been fielded from the same constituency.

Mr Madan Mohan lost from Zaheerabad in 2014 on a TD ticket and is trying his luck with the Congress.  Medak Lok Sabha nominee Gali Anil Kumar is a first-time contestant and had joined the Congress recently. From Bhongir, the party has fielded former minister Komatireddy Venkata Reddy who lost from Nalgonda last year.

Congress leaders have expressed dissatisfaction over the selection of candidates.

Former minister Ponnala Lakshmaiah called AICC general secretary and TS Congress in-charge R.C. Khuntia and expressed displeasure. He told Mr Khuntia that former minister J. Geetha Reddy and he were senior most leaders but were not consulted.  

A senior Congress leader said the high command could have nominated young leaders to develop a local leadership.

Location: India, Telangana, Hyderabad