Will carry forward Amma's legacy, only OPS is against us: Thambidurai

Tamil Nadu Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao earlier in the day appointed AIADMK legislature party leader E Palanisamy as the Chief Minister.

Koovathur: Hailing Edappadi K Palanisamy's appointment as the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister, senior AIADMK leader M Thambidurai on Thursday said the party stands united and will carry forward late chief minister J. Jayalalithaa's legacy.

Thambidurai, who is also the Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker, however took on caretaker CM O Panneerselvam while stating that the latter stands alone in his desire for the coveted post.

"This is people's victory. We will carry forward Amma's legacy in the coming days. We are not divided. There are no factions. Only O Panneerselvam is apart and his question shouldn't arise because he isn't a party member. Except that, all the 134 MLAs are with us. I have learnt that the swearing-in will be around 4-4.30 pm," Thambidurai told the media.

Meanwhile, AIADMK MP V. Maitreyan from Panneerselvam's faction will meet the Election Commission officials in Delhi at 2.45 p.m. today.

Putting all speculations to rest, Tamil Nadu Governor Ch. Vidyasagar Rao earlier in the day appointed AIADMK legislature party leader Palanisamy as the Chief Minister.

The Governor has asked Palanisamy to seek vote of confidence in 15 days, the Raj Bhawan said in a statement.

Tamil Nadu Minister D. Jayakumar said the swearing-in ceremony of Palanisamy as the Chief Minister will be held later this evening.

Meanwhile, AIADMK general secretary V.K. Sasikala's supporters celebrated as they raised slogans against O. Panneerselvam, the caretaker chief minister, outside Golden Bay Resorts in Kovathur.

Palanisamy, along with Tamil Nadu ministers Jayakumar, K.A. Sengottaiyan, S. P. Velumani, T. T. Dinakaran and K. P. Anbazhagan met the Governor earlier in the day.

The Governor heard competing pitches last night from within the ruling party of the state over who should be the Chief Minister.

The Governor first met with Palanisamy, who claimed to have the support of 125 legislators.

Next up was Panneerselvam, who claimed to have the support of 11 MLAs.

Setting aside on earlier Karnataka High Court order, a two-judge bench of the Supreme Court earlier on Tuesday convicted AIADMK general secretary V.K. Sasikala in connection with a 19-year old disproportionate assets case.

She also will not be able to contest elections for 10 years or hold public office.

The disproportionate assets case that posed a legal hurdle against Sasikala's taking over as the Chief Minister dates back to 1996.

( Source : ANI )
Next Story