Nation Current Affairs 15 Aug 2019 Rs 4 lakh to kin of ...

Rs 4 lakh to kin of dead, Rs 10 lakh for asset loss

Published Aug 15, 2019, 1:56 am IST
Updated Aug 15, 2019, 1:56 am IST
The major cause of death this time was landslides with 64 occurring in various places.
Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan
 Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan

Thiruvananthapuram: The Cabinet on Wednesday decided to pay a compensation of  Rs 4 lakh each to the kin of the deceased in the rain havoc and Rs 10 lakh each to those who lost their houses and land.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan said village officers and panchayat secretaries have been directed to prepare the list of  the  flood-affected people at the earliest.


The major cause of death this time was landslides with  64 occurring in various places. All affected villages will be declared as hit by  natural calamities.  A notification to this effect will be issued by the SDMA. The families whose houses suffered damage ranging from 15 per cent to 100 per cent and the inmates in  relief camps...
would be considered as flood victims.  The village officer and the local bodies secretary will identify such houses and families. A sum of Rs 10, 000 would be released to each flood -affected family as contingency fund.

The owners of houses which  have become uninhabitable would be given Rs 4  lakh and  those who lost their houses and land would get Rs 10 lakh (Rs 6 lakh for buying land and Rs 4 lakh for construction of house).

A Cabinet sub-committee has been constituted to look into the losses in various sectors,  including trade and business sector. The committee comprises E.P. Jayarajan, E. Chandrashekharan, K. Krishnankutty, A.K. Saseendran and Ramachandran Kadanapally.

The damage to agriculture crops, drinking water, irrigation schemes and power supply lines will also be assessed.

The government has urged the SLBC to grant relaxation in banking norms for the flood-affected people.  They should be given exemptions  from commission in public sector and cooperative banks, exchange rates and minimum balance criteria.

The state government decided to submit a detailed memorandum to the centre for seeking  assistance. A committee headed by chief secretary Tom Jose was  constituted to prepare the memorandum. The committee comprises additional chief secretary home Dr Vishwas Mehta, additional chief secretary finance Manoj Joshi, additional chief secretary D.K. Singh and revenue department principal secretary V. Venu.

The families which do not come under the Antodaya Ann Yojana (AAY) would be given 15 kg rice free. Apart from families in flood-affected areas,  the coastal population will also be provided free rice.