Nation Politics 15 Apr 2016 PWA-DMDK-TMC okay se ...

PWA-DMDK-TMC okay seats, finally

Published Apr 15, 2016, 7:02 am IST
Updated Apr 15, 2016, 7:58 am IST
DMK chief M. Karunanidhi
 DMK chief M. Karunanidhi

Chennai: DMDK-People’s Welfare Alliance-TMC alliance constituent VCK would take on Chief Minister and AIADMK supremo Jayalalithaa in her sitting RK Nagar constituency here while its another partner CPI would contest against DMK chief M. Karunanidhi in his native Tiruvarur seat in May 16 Assembly elections.

The seats to be contested by the six parties — DMDK, MDMK, TMC, CPI (M), VCK and CPI — were finalised on Thursday after four days of heated negotiations among the partners. DMDK chief Vijayakanth who commenced his election campaign on Monday declared candidates for 70 seats out of the total 104 seats contested by his party on Wednesday. MDMK is contesting in 29 seats followed by TMC in 26 seats while CPI (M), VCK and CPI contesting in 25 seats each.

All leaders of alliance, MDMK founder Vaiko, VCK leader Thol. Thirumavalavan, state secretaries of CPI (M) and CPI, G. Ramakrishnan and R. Mutharasan, and TMC senior leader B. Gnanadesikan released their parties’ list of constituencies here. Mr Mutharasan said that there was a heavy competition among all the parties to contest in RK Nagar and Tiruvarur assembly seats. “All the parties made a claim to contest in RK Nagar and Tiruvarur seats. At last, it was decided that VCK will contest in RK Nagar and CPI in Tiruvarur,” he explained.



More From Politics