70th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra72300313332465 Tamil Nadu2458613706200 Delhi221329243556 Gujarat17632118941092 Rajasthan92716267201 Uttar Pradesh83615030222 Madhya Pradesh82835003358 West Bengal61682410364 Bihar3945174123 Andhra Pradesh3791241464 Karnataka3408132852 Telangana2891152692 Jammu and Kashmir260194631 Haryana2356105521 Punjab2301200044 Odisha210412459 Assam14862854 Kerala132760811 Uttarakhand9592225 Jharkhand6612965 Chhatisgarh5481211 Tripura4231730 Himachal Pradesh3401186 Chandigarh2972144 Manipur83110 Puducherry79250 Goa73500 Nagaland4300 Meghalaya28121 Arunachal Pradesh2010 Mizoram110 Sikkim100
Nation Current Affairs 14 Feb 2019 BJP list: Kummanam R ...

BJP list: Kummanam Rajasekharan in, TP Senkumar missing

Published Feb 14, 2019, 1:42 am IST
Updated Feb 14, 2019, 1:42 am IST
Section of party leaders unhappy with Pillai’s list.
Kummanam Rajasekharan
 Kummanam Rajasekharan

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: BJP state president P.S. Sreedharan Pillai has submitted the list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections to the party’s central leadership. This has happened after talks with the key ally BDJS was completed.

In the mother of all contests, Mizoram Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan has got the first preference for the Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha constituency.


The other leaders who found a place in the panel from Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha seat are Rajya Sabha MP Suresh Gopi and Sreedharan Pillai.

In fact, Suresh Gopi’s name was included from Kollam LS seat too. BJP State general secretary Sobha Surendran is being currently considered from Attingal and Palakkad LS seats. A list of probable candidates was discussed when BJP’s national organising general secretary Ramlal had come to Thiruvananthapuram.  

M.T. Ramesh and K. Surendran are being considered for the Pathan-amthitta and Kasaragod seats. In fact, Mr Surendran is also being considered from Thiruv-ananthapuram seat as well. Mr Pillai told DC that he and BDJS president Tushar Vellapally will lead the election campaign. Former BJP state president P.K. Krishnadas is being considered from Attingal.

“We will be leading the election campaign like two siblings. So how is it possible for us to contest the LS elections? Now the ball is in the court of the BDJS to decide on their candidate from Thrissur. At the same time, BJP central leadership will announce a candidate later,” said Mr Pillai.

Mr Tushar told DC, “As of now, I will not be contesting from anywhere, including Thrissur Lok Sabha seat.” He added that within the next week, a high level meeting of the BDJS will be convened to take a final decision on their party’s candidature. Mr Tushar’s comment is slightly tricky as there is a general feeling that he is keen to contest from Thrissur, but his father and SNDP Yogam general secretary Vellapally Natesan is against Yogam representatives contesting Lok Sabha elections. Tushar is also the vice-president of SNDP Yogam.

Meanwhile, a section of BJP leaders are unhappy with the first list of candidates as they alleged that it has not been discussed in the core committee meeting. Former DGP T.P. Senkumar has not been included in the list owing to his remarks against former ISRO scientist Nambi Narayanan on the Padma Bhushan.