Nation Current Affairs 12 Dec 2018 'Mulugu' f ...

'Mulugu' fails to take K Chandrasekhar Rao word

Published Dec 12, 2018, 1:58 am IST
Updated Dec 12, 2018, 1:58 am IST
Chief Minster K. Chandrasekhar Rao
 Chief Minster K. Chandrasekhar Rao

Warangal: The promise of Chief Minster K. Chandrasekhar Rao to create a separate district of Mulugu in the last days of the campaign did not appear to have worked. Tourism minister Ajmeera Chandulal was defeated at Mulugu by Congress candidate Dana-sari Anasuya, famously known as Seethakka, by a margin of 22,671 votes.

The people of the constituency held an agitation demanding that Mulugu be made a separate district in 2016 when the district reorganisation plan was rolled out. The Adivasis anticipated a district of their own.

Their hopes were dashed down as the TRS government favoured Bhupal-apalli as the district headquarters. The anger of the people reflected in the election results. 

Location: India, Telangana


More From Current Affairs