106th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra2237241231929448 Tamil Nadu118594711161636 Delhi102831742173165 Gujarat37636267441978 Uttar Pradesh2996819627313 Telangana2761216287313 Karnataka2681511100417 West Bengal2383715790804 Rajasthan2140416575472 Andhra Pradesh211979745252 Haryana1799913645279 Madhya Pradesh1562711768622 Bihar12525933898 Assam12523833016 Odisha10097670354 Jammu and Kashmir89315399143 Punjab67494554175 Kerala5895345228 Chhatisgarh3415272814 Uttarakhand3230262143 Jharkhand3018210422 Goa190311568 Tripura171612481 Manipur14307710 Himachal Pradesh107876410 Puducherry104351714 Nagaland6443030 Chandigarh4924017 Arunachal Pradesh270922 Mizoram1971390 Sikkim125650 Meghalaya94432
Nation Current Affairs 11 Sep 2019 5,000 cops to keep a ...

5,000 cops to keep a watch on D K Shivakumar protest

Published Sep 11, 2019, 2:42 am IST
Updated Sep 11, 2019, 2:42 am IST
Thousands of supporters expected to take part in rally.
A file photo of protesters opposing DKS arrest
 A file photo of protesters opposing DKS arrest

BENGALURU: A massive protest march has been organised by various Vokkaliga groups on Wednesday to oppose the arrest of MLA and former minister D.K. Shivakumar by the Enforcement Directorate (ED) in an alleged money laundering case.

Thousands of protesters, including politicians, seers and Kannada organisation members, from Bengaluru and neighbouring districts are expected to take part in the march which will begin at the National College Grounds and end at Raj Bhavan, where a memorandum will be submitted to Governor Vajubhai Vala.


There was a strong objection to the arrest of Mr Shivakumar by ED in New Delhi, and Congress and Vokkaliga leaders condemned it, saying it is a political vendetta by the BJP.

The demonstration is being organised "to oppose the central government's use of central investigating agencies against the leaders of opposition parties across the country and especially in the case of D.K. Shivakumar".

The city police have made elaborate security arrangements with 90 platoons of State Reserve and Armed Reserve Police along with 10,000 police personnel to maintain law and order during the rally. The protesters will march for 5.2 km and will leave the National College Grounds at 11 am. Protesters from 12 districts will participate in the march.

City Police Commissioner Bhaskar Rao said that around 5,000 policemen will be deployed during the march. “In addition, 50 platoons of Karnataka State Reserve Police, 40 platoons of City Armed Reserve and 550 home guards will be deployed during the protest.

The bundobast will be monitored by 11 Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCPs), 42 Assistant Commissioners of Police, 106 police inspectors, 373 sub-inspectors and 2,280 police constables. Over 500 temporary CCTV cameras will be fixed across the stretch and police in plainclothes will shoot the entire episode in hand-held cameras,” he said.

He said that the protest organisers have been advised to stick to law and maintain peace. Mr Rao warned protesters of strict action if found violating the rules. The police have warned the protestors against use of provocative messages and speeches, loud music and forcefully shutting of shops or any kind of violence, use of crackers and burning effigies.

Protest march route
The rally will pass through, National college - PMK Road - Vani Vilas Road - National College Junction - Sajjan Rao Circle - Minerva Circle - JC Road - Shivajinagar Junction - Town Hall – N.R. Junction - Police Station Junction - KG Road - Mysore Bank Cricle - Palace Road - Palace Junction - Ramachandra Road - Kanakadasa Circle - Kalidasa Road - Freedom park.

Traffic Diversions
The city traffic police have made traffic diversions to ensure a smooth flow of traffic. Traffic is diverted on Palace Road: Vehicles coming from KG Road take right at Elite Junction, join Tank Bund Road.

Vehicles coming from Chalukya Circle take left at Maharani Bridge and continue from KR Circle.

Vehicles on Sheshadri Road take the upper ramp at Anand Rao Circle, take left at JD(S) cross and continue on Race Course Road.

Vehicles coming from Majestic to K.R. Market N.R. Junction - Devanga junction - Subbaiah Circle - Poornima Junction - Lalbhag main entrance - Lalbhag west entrance and continue from Town Hall.

Vehicles coming from Richmond Circle, take left at Hutson Circle and join Devanga junction.

From Richmond circle to Majestic: Hudson Circle - Police Corner - Cubbon Park - Fish Canteen - KR Circle - Old Post Office Road.

Vehicles coming from Queen’s Road - CTO circle - Police Thimmiah circle - Ambedkar Road - KR Road.

Vehicles from Majestic to KR Puram: Sheshadri road - Race Course Road - Chalukya Circle - Old High Grounds police station junction – Raj Bavan junction - Coffee Board and continue through Infantry Road.

Location: India, Karnataka, Bengaluru