103rd Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra2000641080828671 Tamil Nadu107001605921450 Delhi97200682563004 Gujarat35398254141926 Uttar Pradesh2655418154773 Telangana2231211537288 Karnataka215499246335 West Bengal2123114166736 Rajasthan1975615663453 Andhra Pradesh186978422232 Haryana1669012493260 Madhya Pradesh1460411234598 Bihar11860876590 Assam11002674414 Odisha9070622446 Jammu and Kashmir82465143127 Punjab61094306162 Kerala5205304826 Chhatisgarh3161252614 Uttarakhand3093250242 Jharkhand2739203514 Goa16848256 Tripura155812021 Manipur13256670 Himachal Pradesh104871510 Puducherry94644814 Nagaland5782280 Chandigarh4663956 Arunachal Pradesh252751 Mizoram1601230 Sikkim101520 Meghalaya50421
Nation Current Affairs 10 Mar 2019 EC declares schedule ...

EC declares schedule for 2019 LS polls, counting of votes on May 23

Published Mar 10, 2019, 5:57 pm IST
Updated Mar 11, 2019, 12:49 am IST
Elections will be held for 543 seats of Lok Sabha on approximately 10 lakh polling booths across the country.
Lok Sabha polls would be held in 7 phases. (Photo: ANI)
 Lok Sabha polls would be held in 7 phases. (Photo: ANI)

New Delhi: The Chief  Election Commissioner Sunil Arora on Sunday announced the schedule for the 17th Lok Sabha election that would be held in 7 phases.

Sharing the details of the execution, Arora said that the first phase of Lok Sabha polls would be held on April 1.


The second phase of Lok Sabha polls would be conducted on April 11, third on 23 April, fourth on April 29, fifth phase on May 6, sixth phase on May 12 and seventh and final phase on May 19.

Election Commission (EC) said that counting of votes of Lok Sabha polls would be carried out on May 23.

Arora said that elections would be held for 543 seats of Lok Sabha on approximately 10 lakh polling booths across the country that is 1 lakh more compared to the previous general elections held in 2014.

Read: Arunachal, Andhra, Sikkim, Odisha Assembly polls to be held along with LS election

Addressing a press conference on the high-voltage Lok Sabha polls Arora informed that total electorate would be 900 million.

He added, 84.3 million would be first-time voters and 15 million would be representing the young voters' base who fall under the age group of 18-19.

“VVPATs will be used along with EVMs at all polling stations. Adequate numbers of both have been made available for smooth conduct of election exercise. There will be mandatory VVPAT slip count at randomly selected polling station per assembly segment,” Arora said.

Arora said a  pre-certification would be required for all the political advertisements on social media.

A model code of conduct would be laid down by the EC that would come into effect from Sunday across India.

Arora warned that any violation will be dealt in the strictest manner.

Location: India, Delhi, New Delhi