CM Chandrababu Naidu accepts BJP resignations

Modi yet to forward letters of 2 TD ministers to President's office.

Hyderabad: To force Prime Minister Narendra Modi to accept the resignations of the two Union Ministers from the Telegu Desam, AP Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu has accepted the resignations of BJP ministers in the state cabinet, Kamineni Srinivas and P. Manikyala Rao, and forwarded them to Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan for approval as protocol demands. Acting on the recommendation of the Chief Minister, the Governor accepted the resignations and sent the communication to the Chief Minister’s office on Thursday night.

Sources say that Prime Minister Modi is not willing to accept the resignations of the two TD ministers in his cabinet, Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Y.S. Chowdary. The two ministers resigned after being directed to do so by their party chief who is forcing the centre to accord special status to Andhra Pradesh. In his resignation letter submitted to the Prime Minister, Mr Gajapathi Raju said: ‘I hereby tender my resignation from the union council of ministers with immediate effect. I request you to accept the same. I take this opportunity to convey my gratitude for the cooperation extended to me during my tenure as a member of the Council of Ministers.’

Mr Y.S. Chowdary’s resignation letter was slightly differently worded: ‘With due respect to the prevailing public sentiment in my constituency as well as the circumstances that led to that situation and in adherence to the decision taken by my party president I am hereby tendering my resignation as union minister of the state.’ As of Thursday night Mr Modi had not forwarded the resignations of the two ministers to the President for his approval as required.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story