Nation Current Affairs 08 Dec 2016 10 new coastal polic ...

10 new coastal police stations soon in Kerala

Published Dec 8, 2016, 5:56 am IST
Updated Dec 8, 2016, 6:32 am IST
DGP Loknath Behera during the ‘Subhayatra’ stake holders meeting in Kochi on Saturday. (Photo: DC)
 DGP Loknath Behera during the ‘Subhayatra’ stake holders meeting in Kochi on Saturday. (Photo: DC)

Thiruvananthapuram: Ten new coastal police stations will be opened soon to strengthen the security along the state’s coastline, increasing the total number from eight to 18.

The new stations are coming up at Trikaripur, Kumbla, Thalassery, Vatakara, Elathur, Ponnani, Venmanadu, Arthunkal, Poovar and Anchuthengu. Work on eight stations, except Anchuthengu and Elathur, is almost over and they will be commissioned by January.

Anchuthengu and Elathoor stations would be also commissioned without delay, police sources said.

“We are awaiting the approvals from the government for the fresh posts to the new stations. Thereafter, the new stations could be commissioned,” said state police chief Loknath Behera.

The entire infrastructure  of the coastal police stations is  provided by the centre, while the state will have to provide the manpower.

Assistant inspector general of coastal security Mr. S. Surendran said that the centre was in the process of allotting boats, while vehicles and other infrastructure were already provided.  

The coastal police stations are being set up as part of a nation-wide initiative to enhance security along the coastal areas in the backdrop of the Mumbai terror strike. Eight police stations already set up are at  Vizhinjam, Neendakara, Thottappally, Fort Kochi, Azhikode, Beypore, Azeekal and Bekal.



More From Current Affairs