All set for penultimate 6th phase polling

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) is all geared up for the phase-6 of Lok Sabha polls that commences on Saturday.

Polling is scheduled in 58 Parliament Constituencies (PCs) across eight States and Union Territories (UTs). Haryana and NCT of Delhi will head to polls in this phase. Bihar, Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal are the other States and UTs which will continue with their polls in this phase.

Polling for 42 Assembly Constituencies for the Odisha State Legislative Assembly will also take place simultaneously.

The Chief Electoral Officers (CEOs) concerned and State machineries have been directed to take adequate measures to manage the adverse impact of hot weather or rainfall wherever predicted. Polling stations are ready to welcome the voters with ample shade, drinking water, ramps, toilets, and other basic facilities to ensure that polling takes place in a comfortable and secure environment.

Polling parties have been dispatched along with machines and poll materials to their respective polling stations.

The Commission has called upon voters to turnout in greater numbers at polling stations and vote with responsibility and pride. Voters of PCs in urban centres like Delhi, Gurgaon and Faridabad are specially reminded about their right and duty to vote and break the trend of urban apathy.

The seventh phase, which is the last phase of polling, will be on June 1 for the remaining 57 PCs with counting of votes scheduled on June 4. Polling for 25 States and UTs and 428 PCs was completed in a smooth and peaceful manner in the first five phases of elections.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle )
Next Story