Entertainment Bollywood 28 Mar 2016 63rd National Film A ...

63rd National Film Awards: Baahubali, Sanjay Leela Bhansali bag top honours

Published Mar 28, 2016, 11:17 am IST
Updated Mar 29, 2016, 9:21 am IST
Amitabh Bachchan and Kangana Ranaut bagged the Best actor award for 'Piku' and 'Tanu Weds Manu Returns' respectively.
While 'Baahubali' bagged the National film award for Best film, Sanjay Leela Bhansali will receive the Best director award for 'Bajirao Mastani'.
 While 'Baahubali' bagged the National film award for Best film, Sanjay Leela Bhansali will receive the Best director award for 'Bajirao Mastani'.

New Delhi: Amitabh Bachchan won the best actor award for playing a hypochondriac father in 'Piku', while Kangana Ranaut scored her second consecutive best actress honour at the 63rd National Film Awards, where Hindi
films won in major categories barring the top prize that went to 'Baahubali'.

This is 73-year-old Bachchan's fourth National award. He previously won the honour in 1990 for 'Agneepath', for 'Black' in 2005 and for 'Paa' 2009.


National award

Ranaut, 28, won the award for her role in romantic comedy drama 'Tanu Weds Manu Returns' for her endearing dual turn as Tanu, a troublesome wife and Haryanvi sportsperson Datto. It is her third trophy at the National Awards, having earlier won best supporting actress for 'Fashion' and best actress 'Queen' last year.

The first part of SS Rajamouli's magnum opus 'Baahubali' was announced as a surprise best feature film winner, even as last year's much appreciated 'Masaan' had to contend itself with just a best debut director award for Neeraj Ghaywan.


Sharat Katariya's debut 'Dum Laga Ke Haisha', a '90s set drama in Haridwar about the romance between a mismatched couple, was named the best Hindi film.

Sweeping historical romance 'Bajirao Mastani' helped its director Sanjay Leela Bhansali win the best director honour. Salman Khan-starrer cross-border drama 'Bajrangi Bhaijaan' was named best popular film providing wholesome entertainment.

Best adapted screenplay honour went to Vishal Bhardwaj for real-life inspired crime drama 'Talvar', while the best original screenplay and dialouge was shared between Juhi Chaturvedi (Piku) and Himanshu Sharma (Tanu Weds Manu Returns)


Here's the complete list of winners:

Best Film: Baahubali

Best Director: Sanjay Leela Bhansali (Bajirao Mastani)

Best Actor: Amitabh Bachchan (Piku)

Best Actress: Kangana Ranaut (Tanu Weds Manu Returns)

Best Hindi Film: Dum Laga Ke Haisha

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film Of A Director: Neeraj Ghaywan (Masaan)

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Bajrangi Bhaijaan

Best Choreography: Remo D’Souza (Deewani Mastani song in Bajirao Mastani)

Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration: Nanak Shah Fakir


Best Malayalam Film: Pathemari

Best Film on Social Issue: Niranayakam

Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation: Valiya Chirakulla Pakshikal

Best Children’s Film: Duronto

Best Tamil Film: Visaaranai

Best Telugu Film: Kanche

Best Sanskrit Film: Priyamanasam

Best Kannada Film: Thithi

Best Punjabi Film: Chauthi Koot

Best Konkani Film: Enemy

Best Assamese Film: Kothanodi

Best Haryanvi Film: Satrangi

Best Khasi Film: Onaatah

Best Manipuri Film: Eibusu Yaohanbiyu

Best Mizo Film: Kima’s Lode Beyond the Class


Best Odia Film: Pahada Ra Luha

Special Mention: Ritika Singh for the film Irudhi Suttru