NIT Rourkela to conduct CSAB counselling 2023, several changes incorporated

Hyderabad: The National Institute of Technology (NIT) Rourkela will commence registration for the Central Seat Allocation Board (CSAB) on June 19 for admission into several technology institutes, through the Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) Mains.

The admission process will cover 31 NITs, the Indian Institute of Engineering, Science, and Technology (IIEST), 26 Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs), 3 School of Planning and Architecture (SPA) and 36 GFTI (Government funded technical institutes)

Around 2.5 to 3 lakh JEE Main 2023 qualified candidates are expected to register for the CSAB counselling for admission to about 40,000 seats including 20 per cent set aside for girl students. The institute has set up a multi-lingual help desk in Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Kannada, Marathi, Bangla, Hindi, Odia, and English languages.

Some changes include: Candidates must have at least 75 per cent marks in Class 12 or be in the top 20 percentile. For SC, ST, and PwD students, the qualifying marks would be 65% in Class 12.

Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) candidates are eligible to apply for the counselling under the general category.

Candidates having less than 40% disability but having difficulty in writing and having availed the services of a scribe or extra time during the exam will be required to do the physical verification at the verification centre.

Candidates whose category got changed during JoSAA counselling will be allowed to restore their birth category by producing a valid certificate during the registration phase of CSAB special round. NIT Rourkela has also developed an online interface wherein candidates can apply for the restoration of their birth category by uploading a valid category certificate.

NIT Rourkela will begin the CSAB special round after the completion of the Joint Seat Allocation System (JoSAA) counselling. There are supernumerary rounds for Union Territories in selected NITs. as well as NEUT rounds from June 26 to allocate seats under the scheme of ‘reservation of seats in degree level technical courses for states / UTs lacking such facilities in the AICTE-approved institutions.’

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story