Bypolls: Byrathi tops Congress list of aspirants for Hebbal

Digvijay Singh landed in the city for consultation to finalise the names of candidates for three Assembly constituencies

BENGALURU: Though the Congress screening committee for Hebbal Assembly constituency recommended multiple names, the name of Byrathi Suresh, MLC, topped the list.

Party insiders told Deccan Chronicle hours before general secretary, Digvijay Singh, landed in the city for consultation with state leaders in order to finalise the names of candidates for three Assembly constituencies where bypolls would be held on February 13, the committee headed by minister for Bengaluru development, K.J. George, gave its report after eliciting the opinion of party workers of Hebbal.

Sources said though the committee recommended a panel of names, the party likely to consider Byrathi Suresh, whose name tops the list. Explaining the reasons for selection of Mr Suresh, sources said, “One, though party MLC and former minister, H.M. Revanna has been trying hard to get the ticket, no leader including Mallikarjun Kharge is backing him.

"Two, he got nominated to the Legislative Council because he was not given a ticket in Assembly elections in 2013. Since he has been handed justice, there is no need to field him again from Hebbal.”

Two other factors, sources added, also seemed to have worked in his favour. Whenever states ruled by Congress witness Assembly by-polls, the high command would go by the choice of candidate of the Chief Minister.

Mr Suresh was backed by Mr Siddaramaiah, so his candidature might be finalised.

“The target is clear. One who pumps in resources and wins the election will be considered. Since Mr Suresh has come forward to do so, he may get the party ticket,” sources added.

BJP may declare its candidates today
Bengaluru: The state BJP, which held two of the three Assembly seats going to polls on Feb. 13, is likely to announce its candidates on Friday. While BJP won Hebbal and Bidar in 2013, Devadurga was bagged by Congress.

Before finalising candidates, the party top brass is trying to take into confidence leaders and aspirants in Hebbal and Bidar.

BJP MLC from teachers’ constituency Narayanswamy has emerged as a strong contender for Hebbal.

Sources close to Union minister Sadananda Gowda said Narayanswamy’s chances have improved since local strongman, Katta Subramanya Naidu, has not made up his mind to contest.

Earlier, the party planned to field Lalitha, wife of late Jagadish Kumar, BJP MLA who represented Hebbal.

But family members of Jagadish are not interested in his wife entering the fray. BJP leaders held a meeting with Sangh parivar leaders on Thursday to finalise candidates for Hebbal and Bidar.

In Bidar, Suryakanta Nagamarapalli is keen on contesting but party cadre want former MLA Prakash Khandre to enter the fray.

( Source : deccan chronicle )
Next Story