Winners at Utsav made to run around

5-K, 10-K run winners file complaint after being given cheques that bounced.

Visakhapatnam: Organisers of 10-K Run and 5-K Run, which was organised as part of the Visakha Utsav-2016, appear to be in the dock with the winners alleging that they were cheated as the winners’ cheques they received had bounced. The winners also said that the organisers of the Visakha Utsav have dented the image of the Vizag.

The disappointed winners approached the police demanding action against the organisers of the run. It may recall that several organisations, including Prisms, Awake Welfare Society and few others, organised the 5-K Run and 10-K Run on January 2 (Sunday) as part of Visakha Utsav-2016. The run was flagged off by AP ministers Ganta Srinivasa Rao and Palle Raghunatha Reddy.

The organizers had announced cash prizes of Rs 15,000, Rs 12,000 and Rs 10,000 for the first, second and third place for both men’s and women’s categories in 10-K Run. Similarly, winners of the first three places in both the men’s and women’s categories in the 5-K run were to get Rs 10,000, Rs 7,500 and Rs 5,000 in cash.

The winners – P. Sivaji, K. Ramesh, K. Vara Prasad, P. Ramani and a few others said that one Pawan of Prisms had raised Rs 30 lakh from the various sponsors for organising the run and present the prize money totalling Rs 1.2 lakh. “We had staged protest in front of collectorate on January 4 against the organisers for cheating us by not distributing the prize money. Now Pawan again cheated as by issued cheques to only six out of 12 winners and the cheques have bounced due it insufficient balance in his bank account, the winners said.

The cheated winners lodged a complaint with III-Town police against Pawan and a few others demanding action against them. Inspector B. Venkata Rao said that they have received a complaint from the winners of the event and will examine it and register a case. Sources said that Pawan has been threatening the winners that he will commit suicide if the winners demand the prize money.

( Source : deccan chronicle )
Next Story