WhatsApp messages aren’t always safe: Here’s what could happen

Deccan Chronicle.

Technology, In Other News

The messenger, which has made our lives easier by connecting people like never before, however, doesn't seem secure anymore.

WhatsApp doesn't notify people when someone takes a screenshot of their conversation which is a big problem to be considered.

WhatsApp is one of the most popular and widely used messaging services in the world. The messenger, which has made our lives easier by connecting people like never before, however, doesn't seem secure anymore. The popular messaging platform is a less formal way of communicating than a phone call or an email, where the tone of communication becomes more relaxed, which is where the problem begins.

Ever since socially active people started carrying around smartphones with modern social media platform apps, screenshots have come to be known as a troublemaker feature. Snapchat is one platform that will rat you out no matter how or where you do your sneaky "screenshotting." As for Instagram, it is said to be testing a notification feature on helping users determine their stalkers.

WhatsApp doesn't notify people when someone takes a screenshot of their conversation which is a big problem to be considered. In a report by Irish Times claims that "In the UK, the Conservative climate change minister, Claire Perry, was explaining about the comments she made in a private WhatsApp group of Conservative politicians after she described fellow party members who are committed to a hard Brexit as “mostly elderly retired men who do not have mortgages, school-aged children or caring responsibilities — they represent the swivel-eyed few, not the many we represent."

Perry’s WhatsApp message was leaked to the press. Therefore, WhatsApp should introduce a "creep alert" feature that will keep its users private conversation under the table and notify users when someone screenshots their chat messages.

The report also states that there's a different messaging app dubbed as 'Confide' — an app where anyone cannot simply take screenshots of messages as it notifies both sender and recipient that a screenshot was ventured. Also, as soon as the message is read by the recipient, it gets deleted automatically.

Read more...