Friday, December 1, 2023
Home » Sports » Cricket » September 8, 2023

ICC Men's World Cup 2023 Umpires List Out


Published on: September 8, 2023 | Updated on: September 8, 2023

ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023.

The ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023 in India is just around the corner, and the match officials for the league stage have been officially announced. All the appointed umpires hail from the prestigious Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, with the officials for the semi-finals and final set to be revealed later in the tournament.

The roster of match officials comprises a total of 16 umpires and four match referees. Notably, 12 of them are esteemed members of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, bringing a wealth of experience and expertise to the tournament. This distinguished group includes Christopher Gaffaney (New Zealand), Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka), Marais Erasmus (South Africa), Michael Gough (England), Nitin Menon (India), Paul Reiffel (Australia), Richard Illingworth (England), Richard Kettleborough (England), Rodney Tucker (Australia), Joel Wilson (West Indies), Ahsan Raza (Pakistan), and Adrian Holdstock (South Africa).

The remaining four umpires are part of the ICC Emerging Umpire Panel, showcasing promising talent from around the world. They are Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid (Bangladesh), Paul Wilson (Australia), Alex Wharf (England), and Chris Brown (New Zealand).

This seasoned group of umpires includes three officials who previously officiated in the Cricket World Cup 2019 final: Dharmasena, Erasmus, and Tucker. Notably absent from this edition is Aleem Dar, who stepped down from the Elite Panel in March of this year.

On the other side of the officiating team, the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees for the event consists of Jeff Crowe (New Zealand), Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe), Richie Richardson (West Indies), and Javagal Srinath (India). All four bring their extensive international playing experience to the role of match referees.

The officials for the tournament opener between England and New Zealand, scheduled for October 5th, have also been named. Kumar Dharmasena and Nitin Menon will serve as the on-field umpires, with Paul Wilson taking on the role of TV umpire, and Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid as the fourth umpire. Andy Pycroft will assume the position of match referee.

Sean Easey, ICC Senior Manager – Umpires and Referees, expressed confidence in this group's ability to handle the immense responsibility of the global event. He noted, "We are pleased to announce the match officials who will be officiating at the biggest ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup ever. This group is the very best from around the world and we believe that they are ready to perform what will be a challenging job with the eyes of the global cricketing community focused on every decision."

Wasim Khan, ICC General Manager – Cricket, echoed this sentiment, highlighting the exceptional skills and world-class standards that the officials will bring to the World Cup. He also commended the inclusion of ICC Emerging Panel members, saying, "We are pleased that four members of the ICC Emerging Umpire Panel have earned the opportunity to be part of this showcase event and we wish them, and all the other match officials involved all the very best for the tournament."

In summary, the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023 promises to be a spectacle of cricketing excellence, with a team of highly accomplished umpires and match referees poised to ensure the tournament runs smoothly and fairly.