Voters of non-BRS MLA constituencies rap govt for discrimination, lack of aid

Update: 2023-11-19 16:37 GMT
J. Nageswara Rao, a fertilizer businessman residing in Yedupaka mandal, which is now a part of AP, said: “In 2014, the then governments merged villages with AP without taking people's consent. We demand to re-merger of such villages with Telangana." (DC Image)

Bhadrachalam, Madhira: The electorates in two constituencies harbouring incumbent Congress MLAs — the temple town of Bhadrachalam in Bhadradri Kothagudem district and Madhira in Khammam district — are unhappy with the ruling BRS for neglecting them and not sanctioning funds for development.

Residents of Bhadrachalam accused Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao “of duping Sri Rama” by failing to release Rs 100 crore for the temple and construction bunds to prevent flooding. Secondly, they said residents of five mandals were made part of Andhra Pradesh and were, thus, facing difficulties in getting their issues resolved.

Political experts said that Bhadrachalam has a strong CPM base, citing Sunnam Rajaiah’s win in the 2014 elections, but said that the communists lost support as they had a considerable base in the five mandals merged with AP.

“Bhadrachalam is still considered a panchayat and there is no registration of properties in the locality. If the town is upgraded to a municipality, there will be development and allocation of more for the town. As Congress MLA was elected by the people, the government started neglecting the area,” said Ali, a resident of Rajupet in Bhadradri town.

J. Nageswara Rao, a fertiliser businessman residing in Yedupaka Mandal, which is part of AP, said: “In 2014, the then governments merged villages with AP without taking people’s consent. We demand to re-merge such villages with the Telangana as we are residing just a few kilometres from Bhadrachalam town.”

The poll contest this time around will pit BRS’ Tellam Venkatrao against Congress’ Podem Veeriah, the incumbent. CPM’s Karam Pullaiah is expected to split the anti-BRS vote bank.

In Madhira, the sitting MLA is CLP leader Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, who, locals say, rarely visits his constituency, and that too only to attend marriages and functions of local leaders. He faces challenges from BRS’ Kamal Raju Lingala and CPM’s Paladugu Bhaskar.

Kamal Raju is a former CPM member and had contested against Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, who won the election for the constituency in 2014 and 2018.

“Madhira constituency was neglected by the BRS government, which did not provide funds as Congress candidate was elected. In the locality, only old people are getting the benefit of pensions. No double-bedroom flats, Dalit Bandhu or BC Bandu were given to eligible applicants,” said K. Veera Swamy, a resident of Madhira.


Similar News