Wednesday, November 29, 2023
Home » Nation » Politics » September 17, 2023

Political parties observe September 17 to suit own interests in election year

DECCAN CHRONICLE | Pillalamarri Srinivas

Published on: September 17, 2023 | Updated on: September 17, 2023

 A Congress supporter waves the national flag during the 'Vijayabheri' public meeting. (PTI)

ADILABAD/KHAMMAM: The day is the same, but perceptions are different. September 17 which fell on Sunday was observed as a special day by political parties in Telangana State, but by citing different reasons. The day saw an increased frenzy this time as elections were approaching.

The BRS, MIM, CPI, CPM, and Congress parties observed the day as National Integration Day. The BJP celebrated it as Telangana Liberation Day. BRS leaders, MLAs, and ministers actively participated in the celebrations.

BRS felicitated the family members of Telangana agitation martyrs and freedom fighters at some places and recalled their contributions.

BJP leaders criticised Chief Minister Chandrasekhar Rao for "changing his stand" on Sept 17 and recalled his view about the day during the Telangana agitation. Many people have sacrificed their lives in the fight against the Nizam forces and his autocratic rule, the BJP said.

In the years before 2014, KCR demanded the then governments to observe Sept 17 as Telangana Liberation Day but now he has changed his stand as part of vote bank politics.

At many places, Congress and BJP leaders were seen busy transporting their supporters and the public for their respective public meetings in Hyderabad. MLAs and district officials participated in the official celebrations of National Integrated Day by hoisting the national flag at the Integrated district offices complex (IDOC) in all districts. Ministers participated in the celebrations in their respective districts.

Such celebrations were also held at the Ramagundam police commissioner's office, where Commissioner Rajeswhari and Godavarikhani ACP Thula Srinivas, taskforce ACP Mallareddy and special branch ACP Venkateshwarlu were present.

BC welfare minister Gangula Kamalakar participated in the celebrations at the police parade grounds in Karimnagar. He felicitated the family members of the Telangana martyrs and Freedom Fighter families.

He hoisted the national fag at the North Telangana party office at Teegalaguttapalli in Karimnagar Rural. Separate Telangana was achieved with the second-phase agitation led by chief minister KCR, he said.

BRS MLAs Balka Suman, Diwakar Rao, collector Badawath Santhosh district Grandhalaya Samsta Chairman Renikuntla Praveen and others participated in the celebrations in Mancherial. Adilabad MLA Jogu Ramanna hoisted the national flag in Adilabad town and collector Rahul Raj and SP Udyakumar Reddy were present.  

MLA Atram Sakku, ZP chairperson Kova Laxmi, and collector  Hemant Bhorkhade participated in the event in Asifabad. Minister Indrakaran Reddy hoisted the national flag while ZP chairperson Vijayalaxmi and collector Varun Reddy were present in Nirmal.

State planning board vice chairman Vinod Kumar hoisted the national flag in Sirsilla. He said KCR made Telangana a role model.

ZP chairman Aruna Raghavareddy state powerloom corporation chairman Guduri Praveen and senior leaders Konduri Ravinder Chikkala Ramarao and Akunuri Shankaraiah were present. Minister Puvvada Ajyakumar hoisted the national flag at Khammam collectorate.

Legislative Council chairman Gutta Sukhender participated in the National Integration Day celebrations in Nalgonda while minister Jagadeeshwar Reddy in Suryapet and government whip Gongadi Suneetha in Bhuvanagiri Yadadri districts.  

Jagadeeshwar Reddy said it was unfortunate that some parties were trying to divide the people by raising doubts about Sept 17.

Home Minister Mahmood Ali participated as chief guest in the celebrations in Sangareddy. TSHDC chairman Chintha Prabhakar was present.

Health minister Harish Rao hoisted the national flag as part of the celebrations and ZP chairman Roja Sharma was among those present in Siddipet district. Harish Rao said Congress leaders could not digest why the people of Palamuru performed pujas to KCR and village deities.

"They got water to their agriculture fields under the Palamuru Rangareddy project. Congress leaders had obstructed the irrigation projects by filing cases in courts. The project remained incomplete during the Congress rule. The next elections will be between Gobels (liars) and Nobles," he claimed.

Minister Talasani Srinivas Yadav participated in the celebrations in Medak district. Government chief whip Vinay Bhaskar hoisted the national flag as part of the celebrations in the police parade grounds in Hanamkonda. Social welfare minister K Eshwar led the celebrations in Jagtial.

Meanwhile, Roads Minister Vemula Prashanth and speaker Pocharam Srinivas hoisted national flags in Nizamabad in Kamareddy districts respectively.

BRS MLC Palla Rajeshwar Reddy and MLA Gandra Venkataramana participated in the celebrations at the new collectorate in Jayashankar Bhupalapalli district.

BJP leaders including former MLA Aleti Maheshwar and senior leaders Ravula Ramnath and Ayyanagari Bhumaiah observed Telangana Liberation Day and hoisted the national flag in Nirmal.  Maheshwar said the BRS rule was similar to Nizam’s rule. He said Hyderabad state was liberated from the Nizam by the Indian military.

BJP leaders also celebrated Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s birthday and described him as a visionary leader. The party's district president Payal Shankar hoisted the national flag and senior leaders Suhasini Reddy, Jyoti Reddy, Jogu Ravi, Dinesh Matolia, and Praveen Reddy were present at the event in Adilabad town.

Congress leaders observed the day as National Integration Day and hoisted the National flag at various places. DCC presidents hoisted the national flag in their respective districts.