Seetha Dayakar Reddy, former TD MLA, gives Congress boost

BRS MLAs now were only bothered about contracts and commissions, Revanth Reddy said

Update: 2023-09-11 19:05 GMT
TPCC president A. Revanth Reddy at Gandhi Bhavan welcomes former TDP MLA Seetha Dayakar Reddy in the presence of Telangana AICC in-charge Manikrao Thakre at Gandhi Bhavan on Monday. (Image: DC)

Hyderabad: Former TD MLA Seetha Dayakar Reddy joined the Congress in the presence of Telangana AICC in-charge Manikrao Thakre and TPCC president A. Revanth Reddy at Gandhi Bhavan on Monday, boosting the party’s prospects in the erstwhile Mahboobnagar district area. She was elected Devarakadra MLA in 2009.

Her husband K. Dayakar Reddy who passed away in June was MLA from the Amarachinta and Makthal Assembly constituencies on A TD ticket. He had even worked as TD general secretary.

Addressing the event, Revanth Reddy said: “The people of Mahbubnagar had stood by KCR when he struck an alliance with the TD and contested from here. Dayakar Reddy had played a pivotal role in that election. As a son of the soil from Palamuru I am asking KCR what he has done for the district. He is trying to claim completion of the Palamuru Rangareddy project though only one of the 31 pumps is.”

The TPCC chief said the undivided district area was yet to see any development under the BRS government, and the migration from people from the area had stopped. The MLAs now were only bothered about contracts and commissions, he said. “They cancelled the Narayanpet-Kodangal lift Irrigation project.”

Assuring the cadre that the Congress would stand by Seetha Dayakar Reddy, he said, “The party is giving utmost importance to Mahbubnagar district. We will unseat KCR.”

He said party leaders Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi and Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge would be addressing the public meeting in Tukkuguda and asked the people to make it a success.

Earlier in the day, many BRS leaders from Thimmapur mandal of Manakonduru constituency joined the Congress at his residence in Jubilee Hills. Those who joined include former market committee chairman Narasimha Reddy, former sarpanch Dontu Sreenivas and former MPTCs Kaluva Mallesh, Srinivas.

Revanth Reddy also participated in the bhoomi puja at the Tukkuguda where the party is set to hold its Vijaya Bheri meeting on September 17. The leaders inspected the ground and took stock of the preparations.

In another meeting, it was decided that from 12 to 14, parliamentary in-charges will visit the constituencies and hold meetings to prepare the party for the September 17 Tukkuguda meeting as well as for the September 18 meetings in the Assembly constituencies.

This meeting was attended by Revanth Reddy, Manikrao Thakre, TPCC working president’s Mahesh Kumar Goud, Anjan Kumar Yadav and election observer’s Deepa Dasmunsi and Meenakshi Natarajan among others.


Similar News