Madhya Pradesh bypolls: BJP wins the bypolls, saves its state government

deccan chronicle  | Deccan Chronicle

Nation, Politics

A total of 355 candidates, including 12 ministers, contested the byelections held on November 3

Indore: BJP workers celebrate their party's lead in Madhya Pradesh bypolls, in Indore, Tuesday, Nov. 10, 2020. (PTI Photo)

The ruling BJP in Madhya Pradesh has won 17 seats with the latest addition of Pradhuman Singh Tomar, who has won the crucial Gwalior seat. It is currently leading in 3 other seats.

Responding to Congress’ EVM fraud claims, BJP leader Jyotiraditya Scindia said that “It has become a habit of Congress to deny the people's mandate by questioning credibility of EVMs. If they keep doing so, they'll remain in the same place where they are or maybe worse.”

Other BJP winners include Brijendra Singh Yadav, who won the Mungaoli constituency seat. Kamlesh Jatav ecured Ambah Assembly seat for the saffron party. BJP candidate Rajyavardhan Singh Dattigaon won the Badnawar seat while Sumitra Devi Kasdekar defeated the Congress candidate in the Nepanagar Assembly constituency.

BJP's Manoj Choudhary won the Hatpipliya Assembly seat, while Raksha Santram Saroniya tasted victory in Bhander Assembly seat. In the Aanuppur Assembly constituency, BJP's Bisahulal Singh defeated his Congress rival. Scindia loyalist and state minister Mahendra Singh Sisodia won byelection from Bamori.

Congress candidate Dr KK Dhruv won the Marwahi constituency, while Vipin Wankhede captured the Agar seat. Ravindra Singh Tomar Bhidosa of the Congress defeated minister of state for agriculture Girraj Dandotiya. Amlyahat - Ramchandra Dangi won the Biaora Assembly constituency by defeating BJP candidate Narayan Singh Panwar. Dr Prabhuram Choudhary of BJP won the Sanchi Assembly seat.

Congress' Ajab Singh Kushwah beat Shivraj Cabinet minister Aidal Singh Kansana in Sumaoli, while another minister OPS Bhadoria (Mehgaon) is leading against his Congress rival.

Congress state unit chief and former CM Kamal Nath conceded the election. "I accept the decision of the people. Thank the voters," Nath said on Tuesday as he conceded defeat in the bypolls.

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan tweeted after the BJP declared victory. He has said that it is the victory of the BJP ideology.

A total of 355 candidates, including 12 ministers, had contested the byelections held on November 3 for which a voter turnout of 70.27 per cent was recorded.


The 25 of the 28 Assembly consituencies have gone to polls as the sitting Congress MLAs resigned and joined the BJP. Following Jyotiraditya Scindia's resignation and shift to the BJP, 25 Congress MLAs joined the BJP.

The Nath-led Congress government had lost its majority in the 230-member Madhya Pradesh Assembly and was left with only 87 legislators. The BJP, which has 107 MLAs returned to power, had formed the government under Chouhan.

In order to remain in power, the saffron party needs to win at least eight seats.