Monday, October 2, 2023
Home » Nation » Politics » November 6, 2022

Twitter drama continues on the D Day of Munugode results


Published on: November 6, 2022 | Updated on: November 6, 2022

TRS cadre celebrate at TRS Bhavan in Hyderabad on Sunday after the party won the Munugode bypoll. (Image: Twitter)

HYDERABAD: #Munugodebypoll appeared to the hashtag of the day on Twitter when counting of votes was taken up for the Munugode Assembly byelection on Sunday.

The BJP’s lead in the second and third rounds of counting particularly excited Twitterati but the celebrations gradually became one-sided as the numbers began favouring the TRS.

As the day ended with the TRS winning the elections, congratulatory messages started flooding Twitter.

"Many congratulations to @Koosukuntla_TRS Garu on being elected as the MLA of Munugode Thanks to the people of Munugode for reposing faith in TRS party & Hon’ble CM KCR’s leadership. As promised, will adopt the constituency & work towards expeditious progress of pending works (sic)," tweeted K.T. Rama Rao, TRS working president and minister.

"Many congratulations to @trspartyonline @TelanganaCMO on their victory in #MunugodeBypoll. Inshaallah, people of Telangana will continue to reject hate & reward development (sic)," posted Asaduddin Owaisi, AIMIM president and Member of Parliament.

The official handle of the TRS posted a tweet thanking the people of Munugode for their awareness in choosing the TRS and delivering a slap to "Delhi bosses," pointing to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the home minister Amit Shah.

The action started waning from the BJP side, and there was nothing to report on the official handles of BJP-Telangana, TS BJP president Bandi Sanjay Kumar and Union minister G. Kishan Reddy.

BJP supporters posted pictures of Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy with a caption: "Rajanna @krg_reddy who stood in the hearts of the people (sic)."

Congress supporters also remained aloof as party candidate Palvai Sravanthi lagged behind from the start of the counting. Tweets on Bharat Jodo Yatra of party former president Rahul Gandhi dominated the official handles of the state Congress president A. Revanth Reddy, the Telangana Congress  and even MLA Danasari Anasuya a.k.a. Dr Seethakka who had remained active on Twitter throughout the campaigning.

Memes and videos lightened the mood but others did not, like a clip of Rajagopal Reddy being asked when he was taking sanyas from politics, while a picture of Sanjay and other BJP leaders was posted by a user with a caption: ‘Gang of thieves.’