YSRC takes lead in choosing candidates from Tirupati district

Update: 2023-10-06 17:08 GMT
The YSRC filed a complaint with the offices of the Speaker of AP Legislative Assembly and the Chairman of the AP Legislative Council to disqualify the defected MLAs and MLCs. (Image: YSRC Official Page)

 Tirupati: The ruling YSRC has surged ahead of its rivals, in particular Telugu Desam Party (TDP), in selecting its candidates for the upcoming assembly general elections in Tirupati district.

YSRC leadership has given clear indications of candidates favoured by it in four of the seven assembly constituencies in Tirupati. Party’s regional coordinator and Rajya Sabha MP V. Vijayasai Reddy met district party leaders and members of all seven constituencies for two days. While four candidates from key constituencies have been finalised spotlight is now on the other three assembly segments.

YSRC had finalised Chevireddy Mohith Reddy’s candidature from Chandragiri several months ago. Thereafter, a decision has been taken on three more party nominees – Biyyapu Madhusudan Reddy from Srikalahasti, Bhumana Abhinay Reddy from Tirupati and N. Ramkumar Reddy from Venkatagiri. Only Madhusudan Reddy is the sitting MLA, while the other three are new candidates.

There is, however, uncertainty about selection of candidates for the remaining three segments – Satyavedu, Gudur and Sullurpet – in Tirupati district, currently represented by Koneti Adimulam, V. Varaprasad Rao, and Kiliveti Sanjeevaiah. There are many candidates vying for party tickets, leading to differences of opinion within the party.

In contrast, there is uncertainty about the Telugu Desam candidates, though names of a few have emerged during the Yuva Galam padayatra by TD national general secretary Nara Lokesh. These are Pulivarthi Nani from Chandragiri, Bojjala Sudheer Reddy from Srikalahasti, Helen from Satyavedu and Pasam Sunil Kumar from Gudur. Further, party national president N. Chandrababu Naidu himself announced the candidature of Dr. Murali Mohan for Puthalapattu.

But there are speculations within Telugu Desam that candidates from these constituencies may change in response to the evolving political situation and alliance with Jana Sena. Further, former MLA S.C.V. Naidu joining the TD in Srikalahasti has raised questions about Bojjala Sudheer Reddy’s candidacy.

In addition, there are rumours that Pulivarthi Nani may instead support the candidature of his wife Sudha Reddy from Chandragiri.

Further, it is not yet known which constituencies will go to Telugu Desam’s alliance partner Jana Sena.


Similar News