Bandi-Backed Leaders from Nizamabad May Quit BJP

Update: 2023-07-05 18:30 GMT
BJP leader Bandi Sanjay Kumar. (File Image: DC)

Nizamabad: Followers of Bandi Sanjay Kumar from the Nizamabad Lok Sabha constituency have been in a dilemma ever since he was replaced by Union minister G. Kishan Reddy as the state BJP chief. This is especially so with those leaders who enjoyed the patronage of Sanjay, to whom they owe their rise in the district.

They are unable to decide on whether to move to another party or sail with the new leadership.

Nizamabad MP Dharmapuri Arvind is trying to strengthen the BJP in all the seven Assembly constituencies that come under the parliamentary constituency. He encouraged Assembly ticket aspirants in Nizamabad urban, Nizamabad rural, Bodhan, Armoor, Balkonda, Korutla and Jagtial Assembly constituencies, while some aspirants enjoyed the support of Sanjay.

BJP Nizamabad district president Baswapuram Laxminarsaiah, Armoor in-charge Podduturi Vinay Kumar Reddy, independent leader M. Sunil Reddy from Balkonda are in touch with Sanjay. Incidentally, Laxminarsaiah and Vinay Reddy had worked with Arvind, but later they parted ways and maintained close rapport with Sanjay.

Speaking to Deccan Chronicle, on condition of anonymity, a BJP leader said that they will observe the situation for the next few days. If things are found not alright then they will look for alternatives, he said. It is widely acknowledged that Sanjay strengthened the party across the state and got immense support from the youth, he said.

Reportedly, Balkonda leader Sunil Reddy has decided to join the Congress. TPCC working president B. Mahesh Kumar Goud is coordinating with him for a formal entry. In 2018 Assembly elections, Sunil Reddy contested as a BSP candidate from Balkonda Assembly constituency and lost to TRS candidate Vemula Prashanth Reddy.


Similar News