Telangana Rashtra Samiti a big winner in Adilabad district

Deccan Chronicle.  | Deccan Chronicle

Nation, Politics

The major loser in the local body elections is Congress party.

TRS leaders and MLA.Gangula Kamalakar celebrate the party victory in ZPTC and MPTC elections in Karimnagar on Tuesday. (Photo: DC)

Adilabad: The Telangana Rashtra Samiti ( TRS ) has shown its command in the rural areasĀ  winning a majority of the MPTC and ZPTC seats in Asifabad Kumarabheem, Mancherial, Adilabad and Nirmal districts. TRS party is likely to win all the four Zilla Parishad chairman posts in the United Adilabad district.

With these elections, it was proved once again that the BJP has gained ground by winning a considerable number of MPTC and ZPTCs seats in United Adilabad district. The major loser in the local body elections is Congress party.

There was not much improvement in the organisation based in the villages and mandals after the debacle in the MLA elections but its performance was good as far as MP elections were concerned. The MP elections were fought based on national issues; Minorities and Dalits voted for Congress to defeat the BJP.

There are a total of 17 mandals in the Adilabad district and among them TRS won nine, BJP got five and Congress won three ZPTC seats. There are a total of 158 MPTCs in the Adilabad district. TRS bagged 83, Congress 28, BJP 33 and Independents 14.

There are 15 ZPTCs in the Kumaram Bheem Asifabad district. Of these, TRS bagged 14 and Congress one. As far as MPTCs are concerned, there are total 123 seats in Kumarambheem Asifabad. Of these, TRS won 82, Congress 20, BJP three, Independents 16 and CPItwo2 MPTC seats.

In Mancherial, there are a total of 16 ZPTCs and among them TRS won 12, Congress three and one Independent (rebel).

There are a total of 130 MPTCs in Mancherial district and among them, TRS bagged 74, Congress 36, CPI one and Independent 14 and others one.

In Nirmal district, there are 18 ZPTCs. Of them, TRS won 12, Congress 5 and one Independent. Meanwhile, there are total 156 MPTCs but elections were held for only 151 and remaining were unanimously elected.

Among the 151 MPTCs, TRS won 81, Congress 52 and BJP four and Independents 14.