N Uttam Kumar Reddy resigns as Huzurnagar MLA

Deccan Chronicle.  | S.N.C.N. Acharyulu

Nation, Current Affairs

Election as MP necessitated the move.

Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee President N. Uttam Kumar Reddy

Hyderabad: TPCC President N. Uttam Kumar Reddy Uttam Kumar Reddy was elected as MP from Nalgonda Lok Sabha seat it had become inevitable to resign as an MLA.

Mr Uttam Kumar Reddy was elected to the Assembly five times consecutively. Speaking to the media after his resignation, Mr Uttam Kumar Reddy said since the last three decades, the people of Kodada and Huzurnagar treated him as their family member and he would never forget their love and affection for him. He added that the people of Huzurnagar and Kodada voted for him as Nalgonda MP also. He said that as an MP, in addition to Huzurnagar and Kodada, he would also serve the people of five more Assembly constituencies. Uttam Kumar Reddy said that he would be in public life till his last breath.

 Meanwhile, the decision of TPCC President Uttam Kumar Reddy has led to speculation in the party that he was stepping down as TPCC President. According to the grapevine, the defeat in ZPTC and MPTC elections led to the resignation of Uttam Kumar Reddy as TPCC President.

Meanwhile, Uttam Kumar Reddy denied the speculation about his resignation as TPCC President.  He said that the high command would take a decision on the change in the TPCC Chief. He said that in the local body elections, the Congress did not achieve the results that they expected. He alleged that in the local body elections, the TRS had indulged in misuse of power. He added that his wife, former MLA Padmavathi had no interest in contesting in the Huzurnagar byelection.

In the same context, Bhongir Congress MP Komatireddy Venkata Reddy said that he had no interest in the TPCC Chief Post. He said that the people had rewarded him with the post of MP, which was more important post than TPCC.