CPI reaches consensus on LS candidates’ list

Deccan Chronicle.

Nation, Current Affairs

However, this time the party wants to put up formidable candidate against Shashi Tharoor.

Kanam Rajendran

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: On the eve of the culmination of LDF’s janasamrakshana yathra in Thrissur, the CPI district councils on Friday reached a consensus on list of probable candidates for the four parliamentary constituencies; Thiruvananthapuram, Mavelikkara, Thrissur and Wayanad.

For Thiruvananthpuram LS seat, district council recommended the names of CPI state secretary Kanam Rajendran, Nedumangad MLA C. Divakaran and district secretary G.R. Anil. The list of probable candidates was unanimously approved by district leadership which was keen on fielding a political candidate.
The party had suffered a major setback in 2014 after its candidate Bennet Abraham came a poor third. Moreover, the CPI faced serious charges of Thiruvananthapuram being “payment seat.”  It led to action against state and district leaders.

However, this time the party wants to put up formidable candidate against Shashi Tharoor.

Party sources said if required addition and deletion in the list will be made at the state and central level. Thrissur district council has reportedly recommended the names of sitting MP C.N. Jayadevan, former revenue minister K.P. Rajen-dran and party mouthpiece Janayugam editor Rajaji Mathew Thomas.

Though a section of district council members strongly advocated the name of V.S. Sunil Kumar and argued that his candidature would make the seat safe, the agriculture minister informed the district leadership that he is not keen.

The Alappuzha district council recommended the names of Adoor MLA Chittayam Gopakumar, deputy speaker V. Sasi and AIYF district president C.A. Arunkumar for the Mavellikkara (reserved) constituency.

The recommendation of Kollam and Kottayam district councils are awaited.

For Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency, the council forwarded the names of CPI assistant secretary Sathyan Mokeri, C.N. Chandran and P.P. Suneer. While the Malappuram district council had forwarded only Suneer’s name, the proposal of Kozhikode district council is yet to be received.

The proposals of district councils will be discussed by CPI state executive and state council to be held here on Sunday and Monday.The state leadership will finalise the draft list and present it before the CPI central secretariat and national council for final approval.