Monday, May 29, 2023
Home » Sports » Cricket » March 4, 2015

WC 2015 AUS vs AFG: David Warner 178, Afghanistan 142


Published on: March 4, 2015 | Updated on: Invalid date

Australian batsman David Warner raises his bat after reaching 150 against Afghanistan in Perth on Wednesday. (Photo: AP)

Perth: Australia recorded the highest-ever total in a World Cup encounter, 417 for the loss of six wickets, against Afghanistan here on Wednesday. The stage was set by David Warner – who scored 178 off 133 – comprising 19 boundaries and five sixes.

The Afghanistan bowlers looked clueless where to bowl. Though they got the big man out but later, surrendered to Glen Maxwell and Steve Smith.

While Smith anchored the Australian innings with a well-crafted 95 off 98 (8X4, 1X6), Maxwell cut loose and sent the Afghan bowlers on a leather hunt. At one point, it looked he might just break AB de Villiers’ record of the fastest ODI hundred.

But nonetheless, Maxwell, like his previous encounters could not reach his century and was dismissed for 88 off 39 deliveries (6X4, 7X6).

(Glenn Maxwell in action, Photo: AP)

For Afghanistan, both Shapoor Zadran and Dawlat picked up a couple but together conceded 190 runs off 20 overs. This is the third instance in this tournament that a team has scored the 400-run mark. South Africa scored 408 against West Indies and 411 against Ireland. The Aussies are the second team to do so.




Chasing a mammoth and impossible 418 for victory, the Afghanistan cricket team did not even try going for the kill. Rather, all they could manage was 142 on board in 37.3 overs.

Mitchell Johnson took four wickets, well supported by Josh Hazlewood (2/25) and Mitchell Starc (2/18).

Nawroz Mangal top-scored with 33 off 35. Later, Najibullah Zadran played some decent strokes (for pride) before getting out on 24. This is the biggest winning margin in the history of cricket World Cup.

Brief scores: Australia 417/6 in 50 overs (D Warner 178, S Smith 95, G Maxwell 88; S Zadran 2/89) beat Afghanistan 142 in 37.3 overs (N Mangal 33, N Zadran 24; M Johnson 4/22, J Hazlewood 2/25, M Starc 2/18) by 275 runs