Assam Assembly Speaker disqualifies nine rebel Congress MLAs

Published Dec 22, 2015, 12:28 am IST
Updated Mar 26, 2019, 3:54 pm IST
Assam Assembly Speaker Pranab Kumar Gogoi
 Assam Assembly Speaker Pranab Kumar Gogoi

Guwahati: In a significant move, Assam assembly speaker Pranab Gogoi on Monday disqualified nine Congress legislators under the provision of anti-defection law.

The legislators, who were elected on Congress party ticket were involved in an anti-Gogoi campaign led by former health minister Himanta Biswa Sarama and joined the BJP.

The disqualified MLAs are Bolin Chetia, Pradan Barua, Pallab Lochan Das, Rajen Borthakur, Pijush Hazarika, Kripanath Mallah, Abu Taher Bepari, Binanda Saikia and Jayanta Mallah Barua.

Advocate Debojit Saikia stood on behalf of the nine defected Congress legislators while senior lawyer Abdul Muhib Majumdar appeared on behalf of the Congress party. Congress chief whip Nilomoni Sen Deka also was present in the hearing.

Earlier, the Congress party had lodged a complaint before the Speaker demanding their disqualification alleging that they joined BJP without formally relinquishing the office. Then the Speaker summoned them for a hearing.

Though, Congress MLAs argued that they are yet to join BJP legislative party.

The speaker Mr Gogoi after hearing the case passed the order disqualifying nine Congress MLAs from the membership of the assembly under various provisions of anti-defection law. Nine Congress MLAs were present when the speaker gave ruling.



More From Current Affairs