Related Stories

Ranji Trophy: Hyderabad humiliated, finish 2nd last in Plate

Published Dec 5, 2015, 7:11 am IST
Updated Mar 26, 2019, 8:43 pm IST
Rahul Shukla was the pick of the bowlers for Jharkhand with figures of 5/89
Representational image
 Representational image
HyderabadJharkhand became the second team from Group ‘C’ to qualify for the knockouts after posting a 10-wicket win over Hyderabad on Day Four of their Ranji Trophy cricket match played here.
The defeat ended Hyderabad’s pathetic campaign this season, where the former champions finished an ignominious eighth in the nine-team Plate Division table — effectively the second worst team in the country ahead of Tripura. 
The reasons for the fall could well be attributed to games off, rather than on the field — played by unabashed administrators. Resuming at their overnight score of 169 for six, Hyderabad managed to add another 98 runs to their second innings total with B. Anirudh top-scoring with an unbeaten 79.
Anirudh’s knock came off 136 balls that included 10 boundaries and a six but he failed to get enough support from the lower order batsmen as the hosts were bundled out for 267. Rahul Shukla was the pick of the bowlers for Jharkhand with figures of 5/89. 
Hyderabad could set only a target of 27 runs for Jharkhand, as they had earlier conceded a massive 243-run first innings lead. Jharkhand then reached 29 for no loss in only 3.4 overs with 10 wickets to spare, to register an outright victory with a bonus point.
Hyderabad (1st innings): 145.
Jharkhand (1st innings): 388. 
Hyderabad (2nd innings): Tanmay Agarwal c Sumit Kumar b Nadeem 17, Akshath Reddy b Shukla 7, G.H. Vihari b Jaskaran Singh 32, B. Sandeep c & b Shukla 58, Himalay Agarwal c Sumit Kumar b Kaushal Singh 19, B. Anirudh not out 79, K. Sumanth lbw b Nadeem 6, C.V. Milind c Jaskaran Singh b Shukla 1, Vishal Sharma c Tiwary b Shukla 3, A. Lalith Mohan c & b Shukla 12, M. Ravi Kiran b Jaskaran Singh 8. Extras (lb 1, w 9, nb 7) 17 Total (all out; 101.4 overs) 269. 
FoW: 1-17, 2-30, 3-99, 4-132, 5-152, 6-160, 7-195, 8-205, 9-229, 10-269.
Bowling: R. Shukla 26-6-89-5, Jaskaran Singh 20.4-5-53-2, Kaushal Singh 15-5-26-1, S. Nadeem 34-9-83-2, Sonu Singh 5-1-17-0, S.S. Tiwary 1-1-0-0.
Jharkhand (2nd innings): Anand Singh not out 22, S.S. Tiwary not out 6. 
Extras (nb 1) 1 Total (0 wickets; 3.4 overs) 29.
Bowling: M. Ravi Kiran 1-0-14-0, C.V. Milind 1-0-1-0, Himalay Agarwal 1-0-9-0, A. Lalith Mohan 0.4-0-5-0.




Download the all new Deccan Chronicle app for Android and iOS to stay up-to-date with latest headlines and news stories in politics, entertainment, sports, technology, business and much more from India and around the world.