Related Stories

VKC Mammed Koya takes over as Kozhikode mayor

Published Nov 19, 2015, 12:04 pm IST
Updated Mar 27, 2019, 1:40 am IST
53-year-old corporation gets its 25th mayor, LDF to rule city
Kozhikode Municipal Corporation mayor V.K.C. Mammed Koya and other leaders ahead of his election on Wednesday. (Photo: DC)
 Kozhikode Municipal Corporation mayor V.K.C. Mammed Koya and other leaders ahead of his election on Wednesday. (Photo: DC)

Kozhikode: Noted industrialist and former Beypore MLA V.K.C. Mammed Koya (LDF) was sworn in as the 25th Mayor of Kozhikode Municipal Corporation on Wednesday.  He is the 22nd elected person  to adorn the mayor post  of the 53-year- old corporation. DYFI leader Meera Darsak was also sworn in as the Deputy Mayor.

In an open ballot system during the special council meeting held at the council hall, the election of the Mayor election was held  at 11 a.m. and  the Deputy Mayor  at 2 p.m.  All the three fronts fielded candidates. Areekkode councillor Mammed Koya secured 48 votes, Chalappuram ward councillor P.M. Niyas  (UDF) 19 and  Meenchanda ward councillor Nambidi Narayanan (BJP) seven.

Muslim League deputy leader in the council and Kinassery councillor K.T. Beeran Koya’s vote was considered invalid after he forgot to sign on the ballot paper. Though UDF leader in the council   P.M Suresh Babu opposed the move,  District Collector N. Prasanth, who was the returning officer, rejected the demand  to count it as a vote, by quoting the Kerala Municipality Act.

In the election to the Deputy Mayor post, Kovoor councillor Meera Darsak secured 48 votes,  Ayishabi Pandikasala (UDF) 20  and  Ponnath Shyma (BJP) seven.

The collector administered the oath of office to Mammed Koya. Later, the Mayor administered the oath of office to the Deputy Mayor.

VKC’s name was proposed by Chakkorathukulam councillor and former mayor Thottathil Raveendran and seconded by Mokavur councillor and NCP leader  N.P. Padmanabhan.  P.M. Niyas’s name was proposed by Mukhadar councillor and Muslim League leader C. Abdu Rahiman and seconded by Moonnalingal councillor and JD(U) representative Thomas Mathew. Nambidi Narayanan’s name was proposed by Beypore Port councillor Satheesh Kumar and seconded by Karapparamba councillor Navya Haridas.

Meera Darsak’s name was proposed by former mayor and Medical College South councillor M.M. Padmavathi and seconded by CPI representative and West Hill councillor Asha Sasankan.  Aishaby’s name was proposed by Chevayur councillor Vidya Balakrishnan and seconded by Valiyangady councillor and JDU representative Jayashree Keerthi. Ponnath Shyma’s name was proposed by Beypore councillor Anil Kumar and seconded by Civil Station councillor Jisha Gireesh. Various councillors and party leaders felicitated the Mayor and deputy mayor and extended  support.

Tea maker to city’s first citizen
Mr V.K.C. Mammed Koya has many feathers in his cap.  He is  a successful industrialist, popular politician, former MLA, philanthropist, union leader  and now Mayor of the second largest urban agglomeration in the state. Popularly known  as VKC, he is one of the unblemished faces of the CPM in the city. A simple man who climbed up  the social ladder through sheer hard work, Mr Koya started his social life in 1975 by becoming a member of the CPM.  His face is familiar to all with his long involvement in  social and political affairs.   

Born as the son of Imbichimoidi-Fathimabi couple on October 3, 1940 at Cheruvannur, VKC’s childhood was mired in poverty. He left for Tamil Nadu in his early days and started working with  the Electricity Board as a contract labourer. Then he started  a teashop there. Later, he  came back and  began a small company to  manufacture the raw materials for match stick.  After running the company for 17 years, he stepped into the chappal industry in 1984. His brand VKC grabbed statewide fame and he also encouraged many to follow in his footsteps.

In 1979, he became the president of Nallalam-Cheruvannur grama panchayat.  He later adorned the posts of district panchayat vice-president, district council public works standing committee chairman and  became the MLA of Beypore in 2001.


New mayor releases his action plan
The new Mayor Mr V.K.C. Mammed Koya released a 13-point action plan to be implemented on a priority basis in the city.   Addressing his first press conference after taking charge as  Mayor,  he  said that he would try for a transparent rule according to the will of the people. New projects will be planned according to the basic needs of  the city.

The  action plan includes effective waste management system and better street light facility. “As an immediate action, the corporation will initiate one -time dispensation of all kinds of waste from the city.  Once in a week, the corporation will collect  plastics from houses. People’s collective will be formed in association with political parties, voluntary organisations, resident associations etc. We will also take steps to establish a waste treatment plant which can recycle all kinds of wastes,” he said.

To give better office services, the corporation will implement punching system for staff from January. The Mayor’s Complaint Redressal Cell will also function once in a week. The Mayor would take steps to tackle stray dog menace according to the seven directions issued by the High Court.

The City Consultative Committee, as promised in the LDF manifesto, will also be established  in which experts from NIT, IIM, other research organisations, individuals and associations will be included as members to plan the development of the city.



Download the all new Deccan Chronicle app for Android and iOS to stay up-to-date with latest headlines and news stories in politics, entertainment, sports, technology, business and much more from India and around the world.

Location: Kerala