IND vs SA: Rohit Sharma smashes records, Virat Kohli joins in

Here are the statistical highlights of the first T20 between India and South Africa

Dharamsala: Here are the statistical highlights of the first Twenty20 international between India and South Africa:

# Rohit Sharma, with his first hundred in T20Is, has set an Indian record for the highest individual innings in this format - 106 off 66 balls. The only other Indian batsman to have posted a century being Suresh Raina - 101 off 60 balls at Gros Islet on May 2, 2010.

# Rohit is the second Indian after Raina and the ninth overall to hit centuries in all three formats.

# Rohit is averaging 57.40 against South Africa in T20Is - his tally being 287 in six innings, including a hundred and two fifties - the highest by any batsman against South Africa (minimum 150 runs).

# Rohit is one of the three batsmen to have scored a hundred but finished on the losing side in a T20I - the first two being Faf du Plessis (SA) - 119 vs West Indies at Johannesburg on January 11, 2015 and Chris Gayle (WI) - 117 vs South Africa at Johannesburg on September 11, 2007.

# Rohit became the fourth batsman to hit a hundred vs South Africa in T20Is – the first three being Chris Gayle, Suresh Raina and Martin Guptill.

# South Africa have won three and lost six out of nine T20Is played against India - winning % 33.33.

# India (199/5) have recorded their highest innings total vs South Africa in T20Is - their fourth highest overall – the highest being 218 for four vs England at Durban on September 19, 2007.

# India's previous highest total vs South Africa was 186 for five at Gros Islet on May 2, 2010.

# South Africa (200/3) became the second team after India to chase a total of 200 successfully twice in T20Is – their highest being 208 for two vs West Indies at Johannesburg on September 11, 2007.

# Virat Kohli is the first Indian player to complete 1,000 runs in T20Is - his tally being 1015 at an average of 46.13 in 29 matches.

# Kohli's feat of achieving the milestone in 27 innings is the quickest in T20Is. The previous best was 32 innings taken by England's Alex Hales and Kevin Pietersen.

# Among the 20 batsmen with 1000 runs or more in T20Is, Kohli is the only one to have averaged 40-plus.

# Rohit and Kohli put on 138 for the second wicket - India's highest for any wicket in T20Is, outstripping the 136 for the opening wicket between Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag vs England at Kingsmead, Durban on September 19, 2007.

# AB de Villiers' second fifty vs India is his sixth in T20Is. His first fifty vs India was 63 off 51 balls at Nottingham on June 16, 2009.

# Jean-Paul Duminy, with eight fifties, has set a South African record in T20Is, surpassing the seven by Faf du Plessis.

# Duminy, with 1498 runs at an average of 37.45 in 62 matches, has extended his record for the highest run-aggregate for South Africa in T20Is.

# Duminy's first Man of the Match (MOM) award against India was his fifth in T20Is. He has got one MOM award each against India, Zimbabwe, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and New Zealand.

# Duminy hit seven sixes during his innings of 68 not out off 34 balls. He has equalled a record for most sixes in an innings against India in a T20I. Four other batsmen have hit seven sixes vs India - Chris Gayle (WI), David Warner (Australia), Shane Watson (Australia) and Eoin Morgan (England).

# Duminy and Farhaan Behardien were involved in a stand of 105 (unbroken) – South Africa's first century stand for the fourth wicket in T20Is, eclipsing the 90 (unbroken) between Duminy and Kallis vs England at Chester-le-Street on September 8, 2012.

# The aforesaid partnership is the fifth highest for South Africa for any wicket in T20I.

# Twenty sixes recorded in the Dharamsala T20I is a record in any T20I on Indian soil, eclipsing the 17 in the Mohali game between India and Sri Lanka on December 12, 2009.

# South Africa have conceded eleven sixes - the second highest conceded by them in a T20I. They had conceded 12 sixes twice - both times to the West Indies at Johannesburg - on September 11, 2007 and January 11, 2015.

( Source : PTI )
Next Story