Related Stories

TSR-TV9 award winners announced

Published Jul 17, 2015, 5:16 am IST
Updated Mar 28, 2019, 12:41 pm IST
Jury members: (From left) Jeevitha Rajasekhar, Pinky Reddy, Jamuna, T. Subbarami Reddy, Jaya Prada, Jayasudha
 Jury members: (From left) Jeevitha Rajasekhar, Pinky Reddy, Jamuna, T. Subbarami Reddy, Jaya Prada, Jayasudha

The recipients of the TSR-TV9 National Film Awards were announced on Thursday morning at a function organised by T. Subbarami Reddy, the chairman of the committee. “For the first time, we are giving awards in seven languages — Telugu, Hindi, Tamil, Malayalam, Kannada, Punjabi and Bengali,” said Mr Reddy. He added that celebrities from all the film industries would be present at the star-studded event to be held on July 19 in Hyderabad. “There will also be some surprises at the event as we wanted to honour many stalwarts of the industries,” he said. “Generally for an award, a jury sits and watches the films and picks the best one. But in these awards, we asked people to give their choices and we got a good response. We compiled the people’s and our jury members’ choices for coming up with the winners,” he said.

Mahesh Babu (Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu) and Balakrishna (Legend) have got the Best Actor awards for 2013 and 2014 respectively, while Ram Charan (Nayak) and Allu Arjun (Race Gurram) have been selected as Best Hero for the same years. In the female category, Tamannaah and Shriya Saran have got the Best Actress awards for 2013 and 2014, while Samantha and Rakul Preet Singh have been selected as Best Heroine awards for the same years.

Venkatesh (Drushyam) and Nagarjuna (Manam) have also been selected for the Jury Award for Best Actor. The Jury Award also goes to Meena (Drushyam) for Best Actress, Gopichand (Loukyam) for Best Hero and Manchu Lakshmi (Chandamama Kathalu) for Best Actress. Charmme also won the Jury Award for Best Actress for both Telugu and Kannada. Sneha Ullal has been selected for Best Actress for Telugu and Hindi. Yesteryear actress Jayasudha got the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Rajasekhar got the Sensational Actor Award. Veteran actor Krishnam Raju got the Legend Actor of Silver Screen Award and Mohan Babu as Silver Screen Outstanding Performance Award.

In Hindi, Shatrughan Sinha, Rishi Kapoor, Shabana Azmi, Raveena Tandon, Mahi Gill and Adnan Sami are in the winners’ list. Interestingly, Jaya Prada and Amala Paul have got Best Actress Awards for Malayalam. Prabhu from Tamil was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Taapsee and Trisha got the Best Actress award for their Tamil films.



More From Bollywood