4 CISF jawans held in Karipur

More arrests on cards for destroying property at airport after the shooting

KOZHIKODE: The police has arrested four CRPF jawans in connection with the ransacking of property inside the Kozhikode International Airport after the shooting incident on June 10 and for allegedly causing the chaos.

The arrested are Rakesh Kumar Meena, Vinay Kumar Gupta, Ramoshi Deepak Yeshwanth and Lokendra Singh. All were on duty on the night of Wednesday when the incident occurred.

The police identified the accused after going through the CCTV visuals. More CRPF personnel are likely to be arrested in the coming days.

Meanwhile, CISF Deputy Commandant Daniel Dhanraj has been taken off the charge of the force in the airport.

The responsibility has been handed over to IG R.N Sahai. The CISF Additional Director General (airport sector) Ranjit Kumar Pachnanda, who reached here on Sunday, called on the ADGP Northern zone, N. Shankar Reddy and said that the force would fully cooperate with the probe being undertaken by the police.

Mr Pachnanda had reportedly assured the ADGP that the mass transfer of CISF jawans in the wake of the incident would not affect the police probe. On Saturday, the police had given a written letter to the CISF pointing out that the transfer would hamper the investigation.

AAI Regional Executive Director, I.N Murthy also met Mr Reddy requesting him to continue the police protection being provided at the airport.

Sources said that it would take time before the strained relations between the CISF and airport officials settled down.

( Source : deccan chronicle )
Next Story