Alipiri blast case: Three accused sentenced to 4 years in prison

Chandrababu Naidu had survived a bomb attack by Naxals in October, 2003

Tirupati: Tirupati additional senior civil court pronounced its judgement on the Alipiri blast case as it sentenced the three accused to four years in prison besides slapping a fine of Rs.5000 on each of them on Thursday.

Tirupati additional senior civil judge Mr O Venkata Nageswar Rao held the three accused G Rammohan Reddy (41), S Narasimha Reddy (40), and P Chandra alias Keshav (41), guilty.

N Chandrababu Naidu, who was the Andhra Pradesh chief minister then, had survived a bomb attack by Naxals in October, 2003, at Alipiri near Tirupati. He had a miraculous escape with minor injuries while three more members who were sitting in the convey were injured and rushed to hospital.

Meanwhile, out of the total 33 accused named in the chargesheet, the cops arrested only four of them including Ramaswamy Reddy, Nagarjuna, Panduranga Reddy alias Sagar and Kollam Gangi Reddy who were sentenced to 7 years rigorous imprisonment along with a fine of Rs 5000 by on October 29, 2010.

The accused had gone for an appeal to the Andhra Pradesh high court, after which the case was transferred to 4th additional district sessions court in Tirupati for further trial. Subsequently, while the convition was upheld for Ramaswamy Reddy and Nagarjuna, Kollam Gangi Reddy and Sagar were acquitted in November 2012. Meanwhile, another case was initiated against the trio including G Rammohan Reddy, S Narasimha Reddy and P Chandra alias Keshav in the year 2011.

Exactly after 3 years of trial, the Tirupati court pronounced its verdict in the case, holding all the three accused guilty.

( Source : dc correspondent )
Next Story