Abdul Azeem named Hyderabad coach

Published Sep 12, 2014, 8:04 am IST
Updated Jan 10, 2016, 8:38 am IST
Former Test cricketer VVS Laxman as a consultant for cricketing matters
 Hyderabad Cricket Association (Photo: HCA website)
  Hyderabad Cricket Association (Photo: HCA website)

Hyderabad: Former first class cricketer Abdul Azeem was appointed Hyderabad Ranji Trophy coach as new office-bearers of the Hyderabad Cricket Association took guard on Thursday and revamped the selection and coaching panels for a two-year term at their first Executive Committee meeting.

Ex-international Noel David has been named Azeem’s assistant while N. S. Ganesh will be the fielding coach of the Hyderabad senior side.

Jyothi Prasad has been chosen chairman of the Senior Selection Committee with R. A. Swaroop, Ehtesham and Arun Paul as its members. “We wanted the selectors to be above board, the ones with integrity who cannot be influenced,” HCA president Arshad Ayub said while listing out the qualities that worked in the appointees’ favour.

Speaking about the plan to establish a new cricketing structure, Arshad asserted there would be “only one state side for every age group.”

The new body also roped in former Test cricketer VVS Laxman as a consultant for cricketing matters. Talks are also on with Team India fielding coach R. Sridhar, who is currently the head coach for Andhra Cricket Association, to give him a lead role at the Hyderabad Cricket Academy of Excellence.

With little time on hand the Champions League Twenty20 starts on September 17, followed by the senior zonals and other tournaments that lead into the Ranji season a 12-day window for a full blown all-India Moin-ud Dowla tournament appears tight. The previous body had announced September 20 as the commencement date without giving any further details two days before they lost the September 7 polls.

Speaking about the plan for districts, Arshad said a mini stadium in Medak was on the card followed by similar facilities in all the districts. Revival of women’s cricket at the school level is also in the pipeline.

Selection Panels
Senior Selection Committee (to pick Ranji Trophy, ‘A’ sides): Jyothi Prasad (chairman), R. A. Swaroop, Ehtesham, Arun Paul (members)

Junior Selection Committee (to pick U-23, U-19 sides): Jyothi Shetty (chairman), Imran Mahmood, Nagaraju, Iftequaruddin (members)

Sub-junior Selection Committee (to pick U-16, U-14 sides): 1. Alladi Raju (chairman), Vinod Makhija, Sai Laxman, M. A. Jaweed (members)

Ranji Trophy: Abdul Azeem (coach), Noel David (assistant coach), N. S. Ganesh (fielding coach).
Under-23: N. Arjun Yadav (coach), Mohd Ghouse (fielding coach).
Under-19: S. Kiran Kumar (coach), C. Dayanand (fielding coach).
Under-16: Anirudh Singh (coach), Anil Mittal (fielding coach).
Under-14: Riaz Qureshi (coach), Rajeshwar (fielding coach).