Related Stories

AIADMK’s Bhuvaneswari set to become Tirunelveli mayor

Published Sep 9, 2014, 11:32 am IST
Updated Mar 31, 2019, 6:05 am IST
Among the 13 nominations filed for the Tirunelveli mayor’s post in the by-polls, 11 were dismissed during scrutiny

Tirunelveli: The BJP contestant for the Tirunelveli mayoral post in the by-polls, gave way for her AIADMK opponent E. Bhuvaneswari to become the mayor of Tirunelveli corporation on Monday by withdrawing her nomination.

Among the 13 nominations filed for the Tirunelveli mayor’s post in the by-polls, 11 were dismissed during scrutiny, leaving the AIADMK candidate and BJP candidate Vellaiyammal in a straight contest.


As the first straight contest against the strongest party of Tamil Nadu, the BJP cadres started campaigning for their party candidate with enthusiasm. According to a local BJP leader, they consider this election a chance to reach out to the electorate, when no other Dravidian parties taking on the ruling AIADMK.

However, their enthusiasm was shortlived as Vellaiyammal withdrew her nomination without the knowledge of her party leaders around 11.30 am on Monday. She was accompanied to the office of the presiding officer by AIADMK leader and present deputy mayor of the Tirunelveli corporation, Jeganathan, in his car. Tirunelveli district BJP leaders were shell-shocked.


According to AIADMK sources, Tirunelveli deputy mayor Jegannathan accompanied Vellaiyammal to meet Jayalalithaa.
The presiding officer of the mayoral election in Tirunelveli officially declared the unopposed victory of AIADMK candidate Bhuvaneswari and issued the certificate to her around 4 pm.

AIADMK nominee M. Rajalakshmi became the chairperson of the Sankarankoil municipal council as the two independent contestants, Revathy and Mariammal, withdrew their nominations on Monday.
Further, of the 16 other vacant posts in the different urban bodies in Tirunelveli district, AIADMK candidates were declared elected unopposed while elections will be held for ward 14 in Tenkasi municipality, ward 19 in Kadayanallur municipality, ward 20 in Vickiramasingapuram municipality, Sundarapandiyapuram town panchayat president’s post, ward 13 in Thirukurungudi town panchayat and at ward 5 in Melagaram town panchayat on September 18.


Location: Tamil Nadu