Deccan Chronicle

Jayalalithaa set to be re-elected general secretary of AIADMK

Deccan Chronicle | DC Correspondent

Published on: August 20, 2014 | Updated on: Invalid date

Ms Jayalalitha is expected to be the unanimous choice for party cadres

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalitha.

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalitha.

Chennai: Ruling AIADMK will be holding elections for the post of party general secretary on August 29, a release from the party headquarters said on Tuesday. Chief Minister Jayalalithaa who is the present general secretary is expected to be the unanimous choice of cadres for record seventh time since the party was formed on October 17, 1972.

As per Section 30-2 of the party rules and regulations, election for the post of general secretary is scheduled every five years. Organising secretary Dr Visalakshi Nedunchezhian has been appointed as the election commissioner and the nomination papers can  be filed from 9 am on August 20 to  3 pm on August 24.

According to the release, scrutiny of nomination papers will take place on August 27 and the election, if necessary, will take place on August 29. The results will be announced on the same day.  
AIADMK founder and former Chief Minister M.G. Ramachandran was the first general secretary of the party and held the post from 1974 till 1977 when he was elected as the CM.

After he resigned from the post, P.U. Shanmugham held the post until 1980 after which R. Nedunchezhian took charge until 1984. Senior party functionary Raghavanandam held the post until the death of MGR in 1987 when the party split into two.

When AIADMK merged again in 1989, Jayalalithaa was unanimously elected as the party general secretary and has held on to the post since then.

Latest News
Most Popular