The Indian Premier League 2020

Related Stories

BJP distances itself from farm loan waiver

Published Jun 27, 2014, 10:24 am IST
Updated Mar 31, 2019, 10:47 pm IST
BJP government at the Centre would provide assistance to TDP for the scheme
Picture for representational purpose (Photo: DC)
 Picture for representational purpose (Photo: DC)

VIJAYAWADA: BJP’s Andhra Pradesh president K. Haribabu said on Thursday that the farm loan waiver scheme was not a BJP election manifesto and it was the responsibility of the TD to implement the same.

If possible, the BJP government at the Centre would provide assistance, he added.


Speaking during a BJP state meeting held at Mangalagiri near here on Thursday, Mr Haribabu said that the party MPs and MLAs would meet Union ministers to implement the assurances given during state bifurcation to protect the interests of Andhra Pradesh.

He also said that the BJP had decided to appeal to the TD government to declare July 4, the birth anniversary of Alluri Sitarama Raju, as a state festival.

He added that the BJP would review the performance of the party in all the districts and make efforts to strengthen the party by inviting those supporting Prime Minister Mr Narendra Modi’s rule.


Mr Haribabu said that there was a vacuum in national parties, with zero performance by the Congress in the recent elections.

The BJP as a national party would try to turn the situation to strengthen the party by attracting more leaders into the party.

Speaking on the location of the state capital, he said that a central team would visit the region soon. He made it clear that the administration would be decentralized, like the Endowments department in Tirupati, Fisheries in Kakinada and Ports in Krishnapatnam. He added that while the chief secretary would stay at the capital, the heads of departments would be decentralized. The Hyderabad mistake of centralizing developments would not be repeated.


BJP national joint organizing general secretary Mr Satish, ministers, Mr Manikyala Rao, Mr Kamineni Srinivasa Rao, MP Mr Gokaraju Gangaraju, party leader Ms D. Purandeswari and party presidents of all 13 districts were present.

Location: Andhra Pradesh