Telangana CM K Chandrasekhar Rao to fill MLC vacancy, 6 more Cabinet berths

Nayani, Ramulu to be made members in Legislative Councils first

Hyderabad: Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao, will soon nominate members for the three vacant MLC seats. Home minister Nayani Narasimha Reddy and TRS politburo member, Mr Ramulu Naik, would be the first to be inducted followed by another politburo member Mr Karne Prabhakar.

According to sources, Mr Chandrasekhar Rao has decided to fill the three vacant MLC seats under Governor quota.

Mr Nayani Narasimha Reddy had not contested the 2014 Assembly or Lok Sabha elections as he was assured an MLC berth after the polls. After winning the elections, Mr Rao inducted him into the Cabinet and gave him the plum post of home minister in tune with his stature. As per rules, a minister should become an MLA or MLC within six months of induction into the Cabinet if he or she is not elected or nominated.

After the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana has 40 MLCs including 14 elected through local bodies, 14 from MLAs’ quota, six under Governor quota, and three each in graduates and teachers’ constituencies.

Mr Chandrasekhar Rao, during the election campaign, had promised MLC tickets and Cabinet berths to about a dozen leaders who had been denied party tickets. He has already inducted 11 ministers including those who were promised berths during electioneering like Mr Pocharam Srinivas Reddy, Mr Jagadish Reddy and Mr T. Padma Rao. Since no woman had been inducted into the Cabinet, Mr Rao gave the deputy Speaker’s post to Medak MLA Padma Devender Reddy.

“KCR garu is firm on keeping his promise to give MLC tickets to senior party leaders besides other nominated posts in phases. Initially, he will fill two MLC seats followed by a third after some time,” said a senior party leader.

Besides MLCs and nominated posts, there is also lobbying for Cabinet berths in the second phase of expansion. Mr Rao is heading a 12-member Cabinet team right now and he can have six more ministers, totaling 18 including himself.

Kollapur MLA, Mr Jupally Krishna Rao, who quit the seat for the Telangana cause and was re-elected, former TNGOs leader and MLC, Swami Goud, Mahbubnagar MLA Mr Srinivas Goud are aspiring for a berth.

( Source : dc )
Next Story