CM Chandrababu Naidu's Cabinet posts to loyalists

Mr Naidu gave top priority to leaders from Kamma, Kapu and BC communities

Hyderabad: In the formation of his Cabinet, Mr Naidu has given top priority to his loyalists at the expense of several senior MLAs. Six ministers are first-time MLAs and there are three women - Partiala Sunita, Peethala Sujata, Kimimi Mrunalini. Senior MLAs K.E. Krishnamurthy and Nimmakayala Chinarajappa are the Deputy Chief Ministers in keeping with Mr Naidu’s promise that the posts would go to a member of the Kapu community and to a BC.

Senior leader and MLC Yanamala Ramakrishnudu, who refused to accept the post of Governor, was sworn in as a minister and is likely to get the finance or home portfolio. Mr Naidu gave top priority to leaders from the Kamma (four), Kapu (four) and BC (six) communities, who powered the TDP during the elections. Mr Naidu has also inducted two ministers from the Reddy community, Bojjala Gopalakrishna Reddy of Chittoor and Palle Raghunataha Reddy.

There was no representation of Scheduled Tribes, though M. Srinivas won from Polavaram. There is no representation for Muslims since no Muslim MLA won from the party. The two BJP MLAs who are in the Cabinet are Kamineni Srinivas and Manikyala Rao. Of the many defectors to the TDP from other parties, only Ganta Srinivas Rao from Visakhapatnam bagged a ministerial post.

There is discontent in some places as senior MLAs Kodela Sivaprasada Rao and Dulipalla Narendra were left out.

( Source : dc correspondent )
Next Story