Rajiv Sharma is appointed as the first Chief Secretary of Telangana

Published Jun 2, 2014, 10:55 am IST
Updated Apr 1, 2019, 4:12 am IST
Three senior IAS officers were bypassed to select Mr Sharma for the post
First chief secretary of Telangana, Rajiv Sharma (Photo: PTI)
 First chief secretary of Telangana, Rajiv Sharma (Photo: PTI)

Hyderabad: Dr Rajiv Sharma, a 1982 batch IAS officer, has been appointed as the first chief secretary of Telangana. The orders were issued by outgoing chief secretary P.K. Mohanty on Sunday.

Dr Sharma is currently on central deputation with the Union home ministry.

He played a crucial role in drafting the AP Reorganisation Bill, 2014. Though the names of other senior IAS officers such as Chandana Khan (1979 batch), A.K. Parida (1980 batch) and S.P. Tucker (1981 batch) were doing the rounds for the post. Official sources said Telangana Chief Minister-designate K. Chandrashekar Rao opted for Dr Sharma, as he has deep knowledge of issues concerning bifurcation. Three senior IAS officers  had been bypassed to select Mr Sharma. Sources said Mr Rao was also in favour of an officer in the central cadre as chief secretary who is not associated with the recent chief ministers of undivided Andhra Pradesh. S.B.L. Mishra has been appointed chief conservator of forests of Telangana.

Location: Andhra Pradesh


More From Current Affairs