Nitish Kumar reviews poll debacle with candidates: Minister quits

Published Jun 3, 2014, 1:58 am IST
Updated Apr 1, 2019, 4:06 am IST
Senior minister Gautam Singh of JD(U) tendered his resignation on Monday
Former Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar (Photo: DC)
 Former Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar (Photo: DC)
Patna: Heads have started rolling afterthe poor showing by ruling JD(U) in the recent Lok Sabha election in Bihar, with a senior minister Gautam Singh tendering his resignation on Monday.
Singh, minister for Science and Technology in the Jitan Ram Manjhi cabinet, submitted his resignation to the CM. Confirming his resignation, Singh told PTI he did so on his own to work for the organisation.
Singh was present during the day-long review meeting on JD(U)'s dismal performance in the Parliamentary poll at the residence of former Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.
Party sources said at least four other ministers have handed over their resignation letters to Manjhi expressing their desire to work for the party.
There was, however, no official confirmation of this. Education Minister P K Shahi, among those who believed to have given resignation letter to the CM, evaded a direct reply when asked to confirm the news.
"This is a mystery which I cannot share with you," Shahi told reporters after the oath taking ceremony of 14 new ministers.
Another minister Bijendra Prasad Yadav dismissed the news.
Kumar, along with state JD(U) president Basistha Narayan Singh, held individual dialogue with all the 37 JD(U) Lok Sabha candidates, to take feed back about the poll.
Asked about review meeting, Kumar all the candidates narrated their experience in the election and made their recommendations for future corrective steps.
"Discussions were held on future strategy," he said adding Basistha Narayan Singh would meet party office bearers tomorrow as part of review exercise which would continue.
JD(U) had contested in 38 out of the total 40 seats in Bihar and had left 2 for its ally CPI. JD(U) nominee from Kisanganj, Akhtarul Iman, had withdrawn from contest mid-way.
Only two JD(U) nominees -- Kaushlendra Kumar from Nalanda and Santosh Kushwaha from Purnea -- won in the polls.
JD(U) president Sharad Yadav too lost from his traditional Madhepura seat and about half of party candidates forfeited their deposit.
Chief Minister Manjhi attributed BJP victory in LS poll to their "confusing" campaign. "People of Bihar are with us and we will bounce back as a major force in the state soon," he told reporters.