Existing power plants to be divided between Andhra Pradesh, Telangana

Published May 30, 2014, 9:04 am IST
Updated Jan 10, 2016, 8:38 am IST
Functions, assets & liabilities, posts, staff will be transferred to new companies
Picture for representational purpose only (Photo: DC archives)
 Picture for representational purpose only (Photo: DC archives)

Hyderabad: Separate energy generation and transmission companies have been created for the new state of Telangana out of the existing ones in accordance with the AP Reorganisation Act 2014.
The new energy institutions will be called Telangana Genco and Telangana Transco while the existing Andhra Pradesh Genco and AP Transco will continue to serve the residuary state of Andhra Pradesh, stated a government order released on Thursday.

Accordingly, functions, assets & liabilities, posts and staff will be transferred to the newly created energy companies that will come into effect from June 2, 2014, when the first government of the new state is formed.


All the functions presently being carried out by AP Genco and Transco in the area of Telangana shall stand transferred to TG Genco. Even all the plants (thermal, hydel and solar) located in Telangana region shall be transferred to Telangana Genco on an “as is where is” basis.

Except for AP Transco headquarters, all other sub stations, transmission lines, corporate training institutes, stores and land in Telangana jurisdiction will stand transferred to the new state.
The headquarters of AP Transco and spares in central stores shall be divided between TG Transco and AP Transco based on the population ratio of the two states, which is 41.68:58.32.

All the liabilities, which are one-to-one linked to a particular asset transferred to TG Transco, shall stand transferred to TG Transco, while that to specific staff shall stand transferred along with the staff to TG Transco.

All other assets, which are general in nature, shall be divided between the two Transcos based on population ratio of the two states.
The State Load Dispatch Centre (SLDC) at Vidyut Soudha, Hyderabad, IT infrastructure and ERP software will function for the companies of both the states till a new one is created in the next two years.

Any issue not covered above shall be decided by both Transcos in accordance to the principles laid down in the Reorganization Act 2014.
The power houses in the jurisdiction of Andhra Pradesh, including Machkund Power House ( a joint project with Odisha) with an installed capacity of 120 MW, AP Power House Balimela and TB Dam power house complex will come in the residuary state’s share.

However AP’s power share shall be shared between AP & TG states as per the AP Reorganisation Act, 2014.

Location: Andhra Pradesh