Two IAS officials express willingness to work with Chandrababu Naidu

Published May 24, 2014, 11:59 am IST
Updated Apr 1, 2019, 6:11 am IST
Three IAS officers are in front race for the chief secretary's post in AP
Andhra Pradesh logo. Picture for representational purpose only (Photo: DC archives)
 Andhra Pradesh logo. Picture for representational purpose only (Photo: DC archives)

Hyderabad: Two of the three officers whom Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister-in-waiting N. Chandrababu Naidu is keen to get on his team have reportedly expressed their willingness to join Mr Naidu’s core team of senior IAS officers in the CMO and some crucial departments in the AP Secretariat.

These three IAS officers will be in addition to senior bureaucrats such as I.V. Subba Rao and I.Y.R. Krishna Rao who are front-runners for the chief secretary’s post.

Mr Satish Chandra, a 1986 batch IAS officer, has held important portfolios in Mr Naidu’s earlier government, including district collector of Ranga Reddy when Mr Naidu was developing Cyberabad. He was also special commissioner, Ports, Kakinada, and collector of East Godavari.

He went on central deputation in April 2008 and the deputation is scheduled to end in July 2014. He also did a training course of two weeks in leadership potential in the USA.

Mr A. Giridhar, a 1988 batch IAS officer served in Andhra Pradesh as transport commissioner, and district collector of Chittoor in Mr Naidu’s government, followed by postings such as secretary in the finance department, managing director of AP State Finance Corporation, and executive director of Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority.


Mr Giridhar, went on central deputation in March 2009 and his term ends on March 2016. He has trained for short periods in banking systems and financial inclusion, and macro economic management and financial issues, in Germany and Singapore.

Mr G. Sai Prasad, a 1991 batch IAS officer, served as collector of Chittoor, and Kurnool, joint managing director of APSRTC, joint managing director of APTransco during Mr Naidu’s regime, followed by postings as chairman and Managing director of Eastern Power Distribution Company, Visakhapatnam, and C&MD of APCPDCL (central discom), vice-chairman and housing commissioner, AP Housing Board, during the Congress regime. The crucial energy and power department is likely to go to Mr Sai Prasad.


Sources said Mr Naidu is also interested in 1984 batch IAS officer Mr Ajay Prakash Sawhney.

Mr Naidu is also considering current IAS officers, Mr Nimmagadda Ramesh Kumar, principal secretary in the Governor’s office, and Mr Daggubati Sambasiva Rao who is in the Finance department.
Mr V.V. Lakshminarayana, who was joint director of the CBI here before being transferred to Maharashtra, is also likely to be brought back and given a key role.
Sources said that this will, however, take some time.

Location: Andhra Pradesh


More From Current Affairs