Lowest-ever Muslim representation in Lok Sabha, under Modi-sarkar

Published May 17, 2014, 6:59 pm IST
Updated Jan 10, 2016, 8:38 am IST
Lowest number of Muslim MP's were 23 in 1957, this time it will be 22

New Delhi: Muslim representation in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections has hit an all-time low at 22. According to the officials statistics, these numbers are worst in the history of Indian Parliament with the previous low being in 1957 when there were only 23 Muslim MPs.

While Muslims constitute 10.5 per cent of the total population, its percentage representation in the new Lok Sabha will be 4.2 per cent. In 1957, it was marginally high at 4.6 per cent. The highest representation was in 1980 when 49 Muslims were elected to Parliament.

The incoming House will have no Muslim MPs from Uttar Pradesh, which has happenned for the first time in the history of Lok Sabha. It will also not have any from Maharashtra, a large state with a substantial Muslim population.

BJP’s lone Muslim face Syed Shahnawaz Hussain also lost from the Bhagalpur parliamentary constituency in Bihar. He was defeated by Rashtriya Janata Dal's Shailesh Kumar by around 9,000 votes. Congress Muslim faces from Ghulam Nabi Azad to Salman Khurshid and Mohammad Azharuddin also lost elections.

The largest number of Muslim MPs come from West Bengal with four from Trinamool Congress and two each from Congress and CPI.

The second highest number is from Bihar with RJD, NCP, Lok Jan Shakti Party and Congress sending one MP each.

In Assam two Muslim MPs, both from All India United Democratic Front, have won. Kashmir has elected three Muslim MPs while Kerala elected three. Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh have elected one Muslim MP each while there is none from Uttar Pradesh.

Muslim MPs in Lok Sabha

West Bengal

Idris Ali, AITC, from Basirhat
Sultan Ahmad, AITC, from Uluberia
Mohammad Salim, CPI (Marxist), from Raiganj
Badrudduja Khan, CPI (Marxist), from Murshidabad
Mausam Noor, Congress, from Malda North
Abu Hashem Khan Chaudhary, Congress from Malda South
Dr Mamtaz Sanghamita, AITC, from Burdwan-Durgapur
Aparupa Poddar (AFRIN ALI), AITC.


Tasleemuddin, RJD, from Araria
Tariq Anwar, NCP, from Katihar
Chaudhary Mahboob Ali Qaisar, LJP, from Khagaria
Mohd Asrarul Haq Qasmi, Congress, from Kishanganj

Andhra Pradesh [now Telangana]

Asadudduin Owaisi, AIMIM, from Hyderabad


Sirajuddin Ajmal, AIUDF, from Barpeta
Badurddin Ajmal, AIUDF, from Dhubri

Jammu and Kashmir

Mehbooba Mufti, PDP, from Anantnag
Muzaffar Husain Baig, PDP, from Baramulla
Tariq Hameed Karra, PDP, from Srinagar


E Ahamed, IUML, from Malappuram
ET Mohammad Bashir, IUML, from Ponnani

Tamil Nadu

Anwar Raja, AIADMK, from Ramanathapuram Lakshadwip
Mohammad Faisal PP, NCP, from Lakshadweep.