Live Telangana election results: TRS storms to power in the newly formed 29th state

Published May 16, 2014, 5:25 pm IST
Updated Apr 1, 2019, 7:48 am IST
K Chandrasekhar Rao won from Medak parliamentary seat with 3,97,000 votes
TRS President K. Chandrasekhar Rao with other leaders at a party meeting at Telangana Bhavan in Hyderabad (Photo: PTI)
 TRS President K. Chandrasekhar Rao with other leaders at a party meeting at Telangana Bhavan in Hyderabad (Photo: PTI)

Hyderabad: Telangana Rashtra Samithi led by K Chandrasekhar Rao is all set to form the first government in Telangana, with his party heading towards absolute majority in the Assembly polls.

TRS won the magic figure of 63 seats, followed by 21 for TDP-BJP combine, 20 for Congress, 7 for MIM and 2 for left.


Meanwhile, out of the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies, TRS bagged 11, follwed by 2 for TDP-BJP combine, 2 for Congress and 1 for MIM

KCR himself won from Gajwel Assembly constituency by a margin of 19,333 votes against Telugu Desam candidate, V Pratap Reddy.

KCR’s nephew, T Harish Rao, was leading by nearly 79,000 votes in Siddipet Assembly constituency, while his daughter Kavitha was ahead against rivals in Nizamabad Lok Sabha constituency.

Congress suffered a severe setback with many of its top notch leaders including Deputy Chief Minister, Mr Damodar Rajanarasimha, Mr D Srinivas, former Speaker, Mr K R Suresh Reddy, TPCC president, Mr Ponnala Laxmaiah, Mr V Hanumantha Rao, Ms Sunitha Laxma Reddy and others biting the dust at the hustings.
Congress leader and former Minister D Sridhar Babu joined the list of losing Congress strongmen in Telangana as he lost to TRS candidate Putta Madhu by 16,800 votes. Madhu had recently joined TRS after leaving YSR Congress.


Meanwhile, former minister Geetha Reddy won from Zaheerabad seat. Congress won 10 Assembly seats and leading in 10 more seats while Telugu Desam-BJP combine won 5 seats and leading in 20 constituencies.

MIM influence was confined to Hyderabad with the party winning 2 assembly seats and leading in 2 others.

Counting is still on. With regard to Lok Sabha, TRS won 2 seats and is leading in 10 seats while Telugu Desam is leading in 2 Lok Sabha constituencies.

Congress could manage to win only one Parliamentary seat in Telangana. Gutta Sukhender Reddy retained his Nalgonda Parliamentary seat this time. This is the lone Lok Sabha seat for the Congress out of the 42 in Telangana and Seemandhra.


Meanwhile, TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao won the Medak Parliamentary seat with a thumping majority of 3,97,000 votes.

TRS strongman T Harish Rao won for fifth consecutive time from Siddipet Assembly segment in Medak district with a majority of 93,000 votes but failed to breach his own record of 95,000 votes in 2010 by-elections in Siddpet.

Location: Andhra Pradesh