Telugu Desam rebels refuse to drop out after filing nominations

BJP has demanded TDP to take action against the rebels
Hyderabad: Three TD Assembly nominees have refused to withdraw their nominations in constituencies that have gone to the BJP in the alliance between the two parties. The last day for withdrawals was Wednesday.
The Assembly seats are Santhanutalapadu, Guntakal and Kadapa. In Tadepalligudem, too, TD rebel and former MLA Kottu Satyanarayana has refused to withdraw his papers and remains an Independent candidate. This means a split in the TD-BJP combine’s votes in these constituencies, which could help the YSR Congress.
The BJP has now demanded that the TD leadership take action against the rebels and sees to it that the TD cadre work for the success of BJP nominees in these constituencies.
The Congress in Seemandhra faces the opposite predicament of candidates withdrawing. Two of its nominees Jitendrappa (Kalyandurg) and V. Appalanaidu (Anakapalle) withdrew on Wednesday.
Next Story