Telugu Desam Party, BJP leaders vow not to eclipse one another

TDP leaders extended their support to BJP candidates

Visakhapatnam: With polling day just 21 days away, political parties are drawing up their strategies. To calm the dissidence among Telugu Desam cadres as a result of some Assembly segments going to alliance partner BJP, leaders of both parties vowed mutual cooperation for their respective candidates on Tuesday.

As part of the alliance, Vizag Lok Sabha and Paderu, Vizag North assembly seats in the district had gone to the BJP. The saffron party is expected to announce its candidates on Tuesday night. BJP AP unit chief, K. Haribabu is the party’s Lok Sabha candidate. He is going to file his nomination on Wednesday.

For better coordination and synergy among the TDP and BJP cadres, the regional party’s urban unit on Tuesday appointed a five-member committee.

“As the state is divided, we need a strong and sensible leadership to develop the successor state of Andhra Pradesh. It’s a historic necessity that Chandrabau Naidu and Narendra Modi join hands for the future of Andhra Pradesh and the country. We need a leader who has experience, not the one who experiments. There is Modi-mania and Modi- wave evident across the country and the alliance in the state will help both the parties,” said Ganta Srinivas, former minister.

He promised total cooperation of TDP leaders to the BJP. TDP candidates for Gajuwaka, Vizag East and South constituencies, Palla Srinivas, Vasupalli Ganesh Kumar and V.R.K. Babu, also extended their support to BJP candidates.

“The Union government’s help will be necessary at this crucial juncture. Given the resources of Andhra Pradesh, it can surpass Gujarat in development if NDA comes to power under the leadership of Modi,” said the BJP’s Mr Haribabu.

Meanwhile, TDP leaders Harshavardhan and Kona Tata Rao have decided to contest as independent candidates as they were denied TD tickets. Aneeta Sakuru, who aspired to the Vizag Lok Sabha seat will contest from the Bheemili segment against party nominee Ganta Srinivas Rao.

Next Story