Related Stories

Andhra Pradesh political parties seek ‘family packs’ to sustain election campaign

Published Apr 15, 2014, 8:54 am IST
Updated Apr 7, 2019, 9:47 pm IST
Botsa fields five family members; YSRCP gives four tickets to Jagan’s kin
 Former PCC president Botsa Satyanarayana (Photo: DC/File)
  Former PCC president Botsa Satyanarayana (Photo: DC/File)

Hyderabad: The upcoming polls is turning out to be a family affair for many leaders, not only for campaigning but for contesting too. Former PCC president Botsa Satyanarayana’s family is the biggest beneficiary with five tickets while the YSR Congress president, Mr Jagan Mohan Reddy, too has given four tickets to his family members beside himself for various Assembly and Lok Sabha segments.

Couples in the fray

There are six couples fighting these elections. Congress Botsa Satyanarayana is contesting from Cheepurupalli Assembly segment in Vizianagaram while his wife Botsa Jhansi is contesting from the Vizianagaram LS seat.


Union minister Panabaka Laxmi is contesting to the Lok Sabha from Bapatla in Guntur district while her husband Panabaka Krishnaiah is contesting the Gudur Assembly seat in Nellore district.

Union minister Kotla Surya Prakash Reddy is contesting the Kurnool Lok Sabha while his wife and former MLA Kotla Sujatha is contesting Aluru Assembly in Kurnool district.

Former minister Uttam Kumar Reddy and his wife Padmavathi are contesting the Hujurnagar and Kodad Assembly seats in Nalgonda district.

From the YSRC, Ms Bhooma Sobha Nagireddy and her husband Mr Bhooma Nagireddy are contesting Assembly seats from Allagadda and Nandyal in Kurnool district. From the TD, Mr Kottakota Dayakar Reddy and his wife Kottakota Sita Dayakar Reddy are contesting Maktal and Devarakadra Assembly seats in Mahbubnagar district.

Parents and children

TRS president K. Chandrasekhar Rao is contesting Gajwel Assembly segment and the Medak Lok Sabha seat. His son Mr K.T. Rama Rao is contesting the Siricilla Assembly seat in Karimnagar district. Mr Rao’s daughter Kavitha is contesting from the Nizamabad Lok Sabha seat.


From the BJP, Mr Nagam Janardhan Reddy is contesting the Nagarkurnol Lok Sabha while his son Mr Sashidhar Reddy is contesting Nagarkurnol Assembly seat.
From YSRC, former minister Peddireddy Ramachandra Reddy is contesting from Punganor Assembly seat in Chittoor district and his son Mr Midhun Reddy is contesting from Rajampet Lok Sabha seat in Kadapa district.

From the Congress, Mr Devineni Rajasekhar is contesting to the Assembly from Vijayawada East and his son Mr Devineni Avinah is contesting from the Vijayawada Lok Sabha seat.

In the YSRC, Mr D.S, Redyanaik is contesting from Dornakal Assembly seat and his daughter Kavitha is contesting from Mahabubabad Assembly seat in Warangal district.

Brothers contest

In the Congress, Mr Botsa Satyanarayana’s brothers, Mr Botsa Appala Narasiah and Mr Botsa Appala Naidu are contesting from the Gajapathi Nagaram and Nellimarla Assembly seats respectively. Mr Botsa‘s relative Mr Ramana Murty is contesting from Vizianagaram Assembly seat.


Former minister Anam Ramnarayana Reddy is contesting from the Atmakur Assembly seat in Nellore district while his brother Vijayakumar is contesting from the Nellore Rural and his brother’s son Mr A.C. Subba Reddy is contesting from Nellore City seat. Mr Anam’s another brother, Mr Jayakumar Reddy, is contesting the Assembly polls from the Jai Samaikyandhra Party.

Mr Komatireddy Venkat Reddy is contesting Assembly polls from Nalgonda and his brother Mr Rajagopal Reddy is contesting the LS polls from Bhongir.
Mr R. Venkat Reddy is contesting from Paler Assembly seat in Khammam district and his brother Mr R. Damodar Reddy is contesting from the Suryapet Assembly seat in Nalgonda district.

Mr Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka is contesting from the Madhira Assembly seat in Khammam district and his brotther Mr Mallu Ravi is contesting from the Jedcharla Assembly seat in Mahabubnagar district.

From YSRCP, Mr Y. Venkatrami Reddy is contesting from the Guntakal Assembly seat in Ananthapur district. His brothers, Mr Y. BalanagiReddy and Mr Sai Prasad Reddy are also contesting from Mantralam and Adoni Assembly seats in Kurnool district.

Mr Mekapati Raj Mohan Reddy is contesting from the Nellore Lok Sabha seat and his brother Chandrasekhar Reddy is contesting fro the Udaygiri Assembly seat. Mr Shobha Nagireddy and his brother Mr S.V. Mohan Reddy both are contesting for Assembly seats. From MIM, Mr Asaduddin Owaisi is contesting the Hyderabad Lok Sabha seat while his brother Mr Akbaruddin Owaisi is contesting from the Chadrayanagutta Assembly seat.

After Mr Botsa, Jagan has the most family members in the fray. The YSRC chief is contesting from the Pulivendula Assembly set and his mother Ms Vijayalakshmi is contesting from the Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha seat. His cousin Ms Y.S. Avinah Reddy is contesting from the Kadapa Lok Sabha seat while his uncle Mr Ravindranath Reddy is contesting from the Kamalapuram Assembly seat in Kadapa district and another uncle Mr S.V. Subba Reddy is contesting from the Ongole Lok Sabha seat.

TDP Chief Chandrababu Naidu contesting from the Kuppam Assembly seat and his brother-in-law Balakrishna is contesting from the Hindupur Assembly seat in Ananthpur district.


Location: Andhra Pradesh